
Geisha Experience in Tokyo: Shows, Prices, Districts and How to Book
Contents
- 1What a geisha experience in Tokyo is, and what it costs
- 2Asakusa geisha show and kenban: the easiest geisha experience in Tokyo
- 3Kagurazaka, Shinbashi and Akasaka: ryotei and dinner geisha experiences in Tokyo
- 4Mukojima and Hachioji: geisha experiences in Tokyo beyond the centre
- 5How to book a geisha experience in Tokyo
- 6Tokyo geisha experience etiquette and the Kyoto comparison
- 7Tokyo geisha experience FAQ
A geisha experience in Tokyo is a paid show or a booked party where geisha perform for you. Depending on the venue, geisha dance, sing, play the shamisen, talk with guests and lead party games called ozashiki asobi.
Here is what the main options cost. We checked every price on 2 November 2026:
- Asakusa public show: The autumn 2026 season runs 3 October–14 November (GO TOKYO). That page lists no price. Seats were ¥5,000–¥6,000 in spring/summer 2026.
- Benitsuya dinner show, Shinbashi: ¥22,000 or ¥28,000 per person. The price covers the room, the meal, the geisha fee and all-you-can-drink.
- Akasaka Asada hotel plan: ¥160,000 for two, with two geisha, food and drinks. The plan page says it began on 1 August 2018, so confirm with the hotel that it's still sold.
If you mainly want to watch and you are in Tokyo before 14 November, start with the Asakusa show. If you want dinner with geisha but don't want to arrange it yourself, Benitsuya is the simplest all-in price we found.
After 14 November 2026, check the Taito City and GO TOKYO pages for the next Asakusa season.
Ready to book? Jump to How to book a geisha experience in Tokyo.

1What a geisha experience in Tokyo is, and what it costs
The options with official listings are booked shows, set programmes or private parties. In practice, that gives you three ways to meet geisha in Tokyo:
- Buy a seat at a public show. Asakusa holds seasonal public shows. In spring/summer 2026, tickets were sold online and at the venue counter. Last season's ¥5,000 standard seat was the lowest published price we found. The autumn price isn't listed.
- Join a set programme. Soto Terrace in Hachioji runs lunch and evening programmes with a fixed price per person. Benitsuya in Shinbashi runs dinner shows at fixed times.
- Book a private party (ozashiki). You call geisha to a ryotei, a teahouse or a hotel plan. You pay per group or per person, often with food and drinks counted separately.
The price unit changes with the format, so check it before you compare. A seat price is for one person watching. A party price may be for your whole group, and food or drinks may cost extra.
Here are two examples. Miyakodori in Asakusa lists ¥100,000 per group. That covers four adults with two geisha for one daytime hour, with drinks extra and no meal. Benitsuya lists one price per person that already includes the meal, the geisha fee and drinks.
Once you know the unit, the numbers start to make sense.

What is a geisha? Key words for your Tokyo geisha experience
Geisha are professional entertainers in traditional Japanese arts. In the listings we checked, they dance, perform song and shamisen, talk with guests and lead party games. These come from the Akasaka hotel plan, the Asakusa autumn show and the Hachioji programmes.
These words come up on almost every Tokyo listing:
- Kumiai: the local geisha association of a district. The Asakusa show performers belong to the Tokyo Asakusa Kumiai, according to Taito City.
- Kenban: a district's geisha booking office. The Asakusa Kenban website lists local ryotei and takes enquiries about parties.
- Hanamachi: a geisha district. This guide covers six areas with official or provider listings: Asakusa, Kagurazaka, Shinbashi, Akasaka, Mukojima and Hachioji.
- Ryotei: a traditional Japanese restaurant with private rooms, where geisha are called to entertain.
- Ozashiki: the party room, and by extension the party itself. Ozashiki asobi are the party games played there.
- Houkan: a traditional comic entertainer who performs alongside geisha. The Asakusa autumn show includes a houkan act.
- Shamisen: the three-stringed instrument you'll hear at shows and parties.
- Odori: dance. Stage shows take their names from it, such as Ozashiki Odori in Asakusa.

Geisha, maiko and hangyoku: what the Tokyo terms mean
English guides use three words: geisha, maiko and hangyoku. Here is what the Tokyo pages we checked actually use.
- Geisha (芸者): used by Asakusa ⓘ Taito City, GO TOKYO, Asakusa Kenban and Hachioji (Soto Terrace).
- 芸妓 (another written form): used by the Akasaka hotel plan and by Ryotei Irifune in Mukojima. We translate both forms as "geisha" in this guide.
- Hangyoku and maiko: none of the official or provider pages we checked define either word. Treat any definition you read elsewhere as unconfirmed. If it matters to you, ask the venue what kind of performer will attend, or check the district association's official site.
None of the Tokyo options in this guide promise a trainee performer. If you specifically want to see maiko, our guide to Kyoto maiko dances, prices and etiquette lists Kyoto's published programmes.

Geisha history in Tokyo: what today's sources confirm
Many guides tell long histories of each district and quote headcounts of working geisha. None of the official or provider pages we checked publish founding years or headcounts, so we don't repeat any. If you want the history, look for each district association's official site.
What the sources do show is that geisha culture in Tokyo is active today:
- Asakusa held public shows in spring/summer 2026 and is holding an autumn 2026 season. Its kenban takes party enquiries.
- Kagurazaka has ryotei such as Yukimoto, which held its 24th Kagura Goyomi event in December 2025. Yukimoto doesn't list the event details online, so ask when you call.
- Shinbashi has the Benitsuya dinner shows, three times an evening.
- Akasaka has a hotel plan with geisha at Akasaka Asada (see date note).
- Mukojima has ryotei such as Irifune, plus a ryotei programme in a November 2025 Sumida City Tourism Association rate sheet.
- Hachioji has lunch, evening and banquet programmes at Soto Terrace.
Guides often mention Shinbashi's Azuma Odori dance show. Its start year and current details weren't on the pages we checked, so look for the official Azuma Odori site.
For party games and manners across the whole country, read our Geisha Experience in Japan guide to prices, booking and etiquette.

Compare the published Tokyo geisha options
Yen totals can look similar but cover very different things. This table shows the price, what it includes, and whether you can book it now.
| Option | Bookable now? | Price and what's included | Time, language, booking |
|---|---|---|---|
| Asakusa show, autumn 2026 | Running 3 Oct–14 Nov 2026 | Not listed on the GO TOKYO page | 13:00 and 14:30, about 40 min. GO TOKYO says same-day entry is possible. |
| Asakusa show, spring/summer 2026 | Ended | ¥5,000 standard, ¥6,000 premium | Online until the day before, or at the 1st-floor counter |
| Asakusa Kenban party at a ryotei | Ask the kenban | Ask | Apply about 1 month ahead. The kenban suggests you arrange your own interpreter. |
| Miyakodori teahouse, Asakusa | Takes bookings without an introduction | ¥100,000 per group (4 adults, 2 geisha, 1 daytime hour, tax incl.). Drinks extra, no meal. | Usually 2–3 days ahead; phone for last-minute requests |
| Benitsuya, Shinbashi | Booking button on official site | ¥22,000 or ¥28,000 per person: room, meal, geisha fee and all-you-can-drink. Tax: Ask | 17:00, 19:00 or 21:00, 90 min each. English: Ask |
| Akasaka Asada (Capitol Hotel Tokyu) | Ask the hotel (2018 plan; ask if still sold) | ¥160,000 or ¥170,000 for two: two geisha, table fee, food and drinks, tax and 15% service | At least 2 hours; English or Japanese |
| Ryotei Irifune, Mukojima | Reservation only | From ¥70,000 per person, including the geisha fee. Tax: Ask | 18:00–23:00; 1–25 guests |
| Mukojima ryotei programme (Sumida rate sheet) | Ask the association | Trade (wholesale) prices only; visitor price: Ask | 2+ guests, from 17:30, about 120–150 min. Book 3 weeks ahead. |
| Soto Terrace, Hachioji (lunch / evening) | Check dates on the page | ¥6,000 lunch, ¥14,000 evening (tax incl.) | Book 3 days ahead; cancelled if 5 or fewer join |
| Hachioji Geisha Pack | Ask Soto Terrace | ¥95,000 for 3 geisha, 120 min (tax incl.); food and drinks extra | For banquets |
| Kaga and Yukimoto, Kagurazaka | Ask by phone | Geisha prices: Ask | Phone the restaurant |
| Kanda Myojin programme | No official listing found | Unconfirmed | Check the shrine's official site |
Sources: Taito City, GO TOKYO, Asakusa Kenban FAQ, Miyakodori, Benitsuya, The Capitol Hotel Tokyu, Irifune, Sumida rate sheet and Soto Terrace.

Tokyo geisha districts at a glance
This table shows what we could document in each area, using only the official and provider pages we checked. It also flags the places we could not confirm, so you know where to look first.
| District | What's documented | Status | Map |
|---|---|---|---|
| Asakusa | Public Ozashiki Odori show; kenban with ryotei list; Miyakodori teahouse | Official pages checked | Map |
| Kagurazaka | Ryotei Yukimoto and Kappo Kaga contacts | Geisha prices not listed; ask by phone | Map |
| Shinbashi | Benitsuya dinner shows | Official page checked | Map |
| Akasaka | MAI plan at Akasaka Asada via The Capitol Hotel Tokyu | Hotel page checked; current sales unconfirmed | Map |
| Mukojima | Ryotei Irifune; Sumida ryotei programme rate sheet | Official pages checked; visitor price for the programme not stated | Map |
| Hachioji | Soto Terrace lunch, evening and banquet programmes | Official page checked | Map |
| Nihonbashi | Other guides mention performances | No official listing found | Map |

Kanda Myojin: a geisha culture programme to check first
Some travel guides describe a geisha culture programme at Kanda Myojin shrine. We found no official page listing it. That means its price, dates, length, language support and booking method are all unconfirmed. Check the shrine's official site before you plan around it.
If you do find an official listing, ask the same questions as for any other option:
- Is it a show, a talk or a hands-on session?
- Is the price per person, and what does it include?
- Is English provided by a guide, a geisha or a device?
- How do you book, and what is the cancellation deadline?
Find Kanda Myojin here: map.
The same caution applies to one more item. You may see an Asakusa ozashiki programme offered as a hometown-tax (furusato nozei) gift. Its current operator and terms are unconfirmed, so check the official listing before you choose it.

Budget tiers for a Tokyo geisha experience
Here's a quick way to size your budget, using only published prices:
- Under ¥15,000 per person:
- Asakusa show: ¥5,000–¥6,000 in spring/summer 2026. Autumn price not listed.
- Soto Terrace lunch, ¥6,000, or evening, ¥14,000, in Hachioji
- About ¥22,000–¥28,000 per person: Benitsuya in Shinbashi, with the meal, geisha fee and drinks included.
- ¥70,000 per person and up: Ryotei Irifune in Mukojima, including the geisha fee.
- Group prices around ¥95,000–¥170,000:
- Hachioji Geisha Pack, ¥95,000 for three geisha (food extra)
- Miyakodori, ¥100,000 per group of four (drinks extra, no meal)
- Akasaka Asada, ¥160,000–¥170,000 for two (see date note)
Group prices change a lot per head. Four friends at Miyakodori split one ¥100,000 fee. Two guests on the Akasaka Asada plan would share ¥160,000, if the plan is still on sale.

Our Japan trip cost guide helps you fit this into your full travel budget.
2Asakusa geisha show and kenban: the easiest geisha experience in Tokyo
The Asakusa Ozashiki Odori is a ticketed public show by the Tokyo Asakusa Kumiai. GO TOKYO lists the autumn 2026 season from 3 October to 14 November 2026. Seats were ¥5,000–¥6,000 in spring/summer 2026, sold online and at the counter.
You buy a seat, sit down and watch. If you're not ready for a private dinner, this is the low-risk way to start. Asakusa also has a kenban and a teahouse for when you want more.

What happens at the Asakusa geisha show
According to GO TOKYO, the autumn programme lasts about 40 minutes and includes:
- performance pieces by Asakusa geisha
- a comic act by a houkan
- ozashiki asobi (party games)
An organising committee runs the show.
Getting there: The venue address is 2-18-9 Kaminarimon, Taito City (map). It's a 1-minute walk from Exit 2 of Tokyo Metro Asakusa Station, or 5 minutes from Tobu Asakusa Station. The spring/summer shows were on the 6th floor, so confirm the floor for autumn when you arrive.
If you're on a tight schedule, you can fit the Asakusa show into a 3-day Tokyo route.

Autumn 2026 dates and same-day entry
GO TOKYO lists the autumn season as 3 October–14 November 2026. Shows start at 13:00 and 14:30, and GO TOKYO says same-day participation is possible.
Several details are not on that page:
- which days inside the season have shows
- the ticket price
- the conditions for same-day entry
Before you go, phone 03-3842-5566, the enquiry number Taito City listed for the spring/summer season, and ask about all three.
As of 2 November 2026, no spring 2027 dates were listed. Our guide to the best time to visit Japan can help you match a season to your trip.

Seats, prices and tickets last season (spring/summer 2026, ended)
These details come from Taito City. They show how the show worked last season, which helps you know what to ask about autumn.
- Dates: 11 April; 6, 13 and 20 June; 4 and 11 July 2026.
- Times: Part 1 doors 12:30, start 13:00. Part 2 doors 14:00, start 14:30.
- Prices: Standard ¥5,000; Premium ¥6,000.
- Tickets online: sold until the day before the show.
- Tickets in person: the 1st-floor counter of the same building, open 9:00–20:00, also sold same-day tickets.
- Wheelchair users: Taito City asked guests who need support to phone ahead.
The page we checked didn't say what the premium seat added, how many seats there were, or whether announcements were in English. Ask the organiser on 03-3842-5566 if any of these matter to you.

Asakusa Kenban: calling geisha to a ryotei
The Asakusa Kenban is the route to a private party in Asakusa. Its website lists Asakusa ryotei and has a contact page.
- Address: 3-33-5 Asakusa, Taito City (map)
- Phone: 03-3874-3131
- When to apply: about one month before your date, as the kenban FAQ suggests
- Language: the kenban recommends that you arrange your own interpreter
- Access: the kenban building has no elevator or slope, so it is not wheelchair accessible. The show venue is a separate building.
The kenban doesn't publish party prices, so request a full quote for your group when you get in touch.

Miyakodori: a teahouse that welcomes first-timers
Machiai Chaya Miyakodori accepts bookings without an introduction. Its sample price is clear:
- ¥100,000 per group, tax included, for four adults and two geisha for one daytime hour
- Drinks cost extra
- No meal is included
Book two to three days ahead as a rule. For last-minute requests, phone to ask. Cancellation is free until seven days before, then costs 30–100% depending on timing. Find it in Asakusa (map).

Yakatabune: geisha on a party boat
GO TOKYO says that if you want geisha and a houkan on a yakatabune (a roofed party boat), you should ask the Asakusa Kenban. The GO TOKYO article was last updated on 31 March 2025, and current prices are unconfirmed. Ask the kenban for a quote.
3Kagurazaka, Shinbashi and Akasaka: ryotei and dinner geisha experiences in Tokyo
These three central districts offer three different styles. Kagurazaka has ryotei that take bookings by phone. Shinbashi's Benitsuya lists ¥22,000 or ¥28,000 per person, with the meal, geisha fee and drinks included. Akasaka Asada's hotel plan lists ¥160,000 for two (see date note).
In Kagurazaka, neither official page we checked lists a geisha fee, so call and ask for a full quote. We could not find a public booking window run by the Tokyo Kagurazaka Kumiai.

Kagurazaka: Ryotei Yukimoto
Ryotei Yukimoto takes reservations by phone:
- Phone: 03-3260-1576, answered 12:00–22:00
- Open: 18:00–23:00
- Closed: Sundays and public holidays
- Saturdays: groups of five or more only
Yukimoto held its 24th Kagura Goyomi event in December 2025. Yukimoto doesn't list the size, price or photo rules for this event, so ask about any future edition when you call. Find it in Kagurazaka (map).

Kagurazaka: Kappo Kaga
The Kaga official site lists the phone number 03-3260-1482.
Kaga's menu page doesn't list a geisha fee, the programme, a booking deadline or a cancellation fee. It also says nothing about English or dietary support. Phone the restaurant and go through each point before you commit. Find it in Kagurazaka (map).

Shinbashi: Benitsuya dinner shows
The official name is 紅艶 (Benitsuya). It's on the 6th floor of the Grand Hammer building, 2-8-5 Shinbashi, Minato City. It's a 1-minute walk from JR Shinbashi Station (map).
The Benitsuya official site lists two set meals:
- Take (竹) ozashiki set: ¥22,000
- Matsu (松) ozashiki set: ¥28,000
Both include the room charge, the meal, the geisha fee (hanadai) and all-you-can-drink. The page doesn't say whether tax is included, so ask when you book.
Show times: 17:00, 19:00 and 21:00, each lasting 90 minutes. Opening hours are 17:00–22:30.
Booking: Use the reservation button on the official site.
Food: Ask for vegetarian meals when you book. Benitsuya can't handle allergies because of cross-contact risk.
Before you pay: The official page doesn't cover the age limit, wheelchair access, capacity, cancellation fee, or whether English staff or translation devices are available. Ask about each one in your booking request.

Akasaka Asada: the MAI hotel plan for two
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu lists the MAI plan, a dinner with geisha at Akasaka Asada. You enjoy song, dance, shamisen and conversation in English or Japanese, for at least two hours.
The listed prices include two geisha, the table fee, food and drinks for two, tax and a 15% service charge. Hotel rooms are not included.
- Drink set: ¥160,000 for two; each extra guest ¥25,000
- All-you-can-drink: ¥170,000 for two; each extra guest ¥30,000
- Extra geisha: ¥55,500
Date note: The page says the plan began on 1 August 2018 (2018 plan; ask if still sold). Whether it's still on sale in November 2026, and at these prices, is unconfirmed. Ask the hotel before you rely on it.

Rules: Guests under 18 cannot enter Akasaka Asada. The plan is not available on Sundays, public holidays, 11–19 August or 23 December–5 January. A 100% cancellation charge applies from 14 days before.
Contact: Call the hotel's reservations on +81-3-3503-0109 or +81-3-3503-0309, or use the form on the plan page. The venue is in Akasaka (map).
Geisha odori (dance) performances in Tokyo
Odori are stage dance performances. Dates and tickets change every year, so check each one's official site.
- Asakusa Ozashiki Odori: seasonal public shows in spring/summer and autumn 2026 (see the Asakusa section).
- Kagurazaka Odori (神楽坂をどり): Kagurazaka's dance show. We couldn't confirm dates or ticket rules, so check the official Kagurazaka sources.
- Shinbashi Azuma Odori (東をどり): Shinbashi's dance show. Its start year and current conditions weren't on the pages we checked, so look for the official Azuma Odori site.
- Nihonbashi performances: Other guides mention them, but we found no official listing.

4Mukojima and Hachioji: geisha experiences in Tokyo beyond the centre
Mukojima and Hachioji both have published prices. They make good alternatives if central Tokyo dates are full. Mukojima is a ryotei district in Sumida City. Hachioji is in western Tokyo, and Soto Terrace runs set lunch and evening programmes there.

Mukojima: Ryotei Irifune
Ryotei Irifune takes reservations only.
- Open: 18:00–23:00; closed Sundays and public holidays
- Price: food and drink from ¥70,000 per person, including the geisha fee. The page doesn't say whether tax is included.
- Group size: 1–25 guests
- Phone: 03-3622-6233
Find it in Mukojima (map).
Mukojima: the Sumida ryotei programme
The Sumida City Tourism Association rate sheet, dated November 2025, describes a ryotei experience:
- Who: two or more guests
- When: starts at 17:30 or later, lasting about 120–150 minutes. Not available over the New Year, 28 December–4 January, and some other dates.
- Prices on the sheet: meal ¥75,900 per person, interpreter guide ¥25,300, meal for the guide ¥25,300, all including tax and service. These are wholesale prices. What an individual visitor pays is not stated.
- Interpreter: an interpreter guide and the guide's meal must be arranged. If you bring your own accompanying guide, you don't need to arrange the interpreter guide.
- Deadline: apply three weeks before your date.
- Cancellation: 30% from 14 to 11 days before, 50% from 10 to 6 days before, 100% from 5 days before.
- Other rules: you can't choose the ryotei, and dietary needs are discussed case by case.
- Dress: no beach sandals or shorts.
- Children: infants and elementary school children generally can't join, though under-4s can be discussed. Junior high students and older pay the adult price.
Ask the Sumida City Tourism Association how individual travellers can book and what they pay.

Hachioji: Soto Terrace programmes
Soto Terrace is at 11-8 Nakacho, Hachioji (map). It lists three ways to see Hachioji geisha:
| Programme | Time | Price (tax incl.) | What's included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lunchtime with Hachioji geisha (お昼に八王子芸者) | 12:00–13:00 | ¥6,000 | Dance by 2 geisha, bento lunch, soft drink. Up to 18 guests. |
| Tonight, Hachioji geisha (今宵は八王子芸者) | 18:30–20:30 | ¥14,000 | Dance by 3 geisha, kaiseki set meal. Up to 18 guests. |
| Hachioji Geisha Pack | 120 min | ¥95,000 | 3 geisha for a banquet; food and drinks extra |
For the lunch and evening programmes, book at least three days before. They are cancelled if five or fewer people sign up.
Soto Terrace also lists a separate ozashiki experience with party games, conversation and a commemorative photo. Soto Terrace doesn't show its price or which year the listed dates refer to, so ask before you plan around it.

5How to book a geisha experience in Tokyo
Booking works differently for shows and parties:
- Shows and set programmes: buy a ticket or book a seat online, by phone or at the counter.
- Private parties: ask for a full quote for your group by phone, form or booking button.
For both, get the cancellation terms in writing. Booking in another language can feel stressful, but the steps are the same for every venue.

Booking steps
- Open the official listing in your browser. Use GO TOKYO for the Asakusa show. For dinners, open Benitsuya, Miyakodori, Soto Terrace or the Akasaka plan page.
- Check the dates and status near the top of the page. If the season has ended or no dates are shown, phone the listed number and ask about the next dates.
- Ask for a full quote by phone, contact form or the booking button. Give your group size. Ask whether the price is per seat, per person or per group. Also ask whether food, drinks, the geisha fee, tax and service are included.
- Type your needs in the same email, contact-form box or booking request field. Include language support, wheelchair access, children's ages and diet.
- Read the cancellation section on the booking screen or in the confirmation email. Check the deadline for cancelling and for cutting your group size.
- Save the confirmation email, then tap the map link to open it in your maps app. Note the venue name, address, start time and phone number.
You can copy this message:

Ask each venue how you can pay. Our cash or card in Japan guide covers the basics.
First-time guests: who takes bookings without an introduction
Some traditional venues only accept guests who come with an introduction from a regular customer. This custom is called ichigen-san okotowari. How strictly Tokyo's ryotei and districts apply it could not be confirmed as one rule, so ask each venue.
These options are open to first-time guests:
- Asakusa public show: tickets were sold online and at the counter last season.
- Miyakodori: says it accepts bookings without an introduction.
- Benitsuya: you can book from the official site.
- Soto Terrace, Hachioji: set programmes with listed prices.
- Akasaka Asada: through The Capitol Hotel Tokyu (see date note).
For a ryotei party in Asakusa, contact the Asakusa Kenban. Wherever you book, ask about price, interpretation and dietary needs in advance.

6Tokyo geisha experience etiquette and the Kyoto comparison
Follow each venue's stated rules on dress, age, diet and cancellation, and ask when you're unsure. You don't need to memorise a long list of customs.
The rules below come straight from the official listings. They're the ones most likely to catch visitors out.

Etiquette at a Tokyo geisha show or dinner
- Dress: The Mukojima programme bans beach sandals and shorts. Other venues didn't list a dress code, so ask.
- Age: Akasaka Asada doesn't admit guests under 18. The Mukojima programme generally doesn't accept infants or elementary school children. Check before you bring family.
- Diet: Request vegetarian meals at Benitsuya when you book. In Mukojima, dietary needs are discussed case by case.
- Photos: Take photos only where the venue allows it. Soto Terrace's ozashiki experience includes a commemorative photo. Other venues didn't publish photo rules, so ask.
- Language: Arrange interpretation in advance where the venue asks you to, as the Asakusa Kenban and the Mukojima programme do.
- Cancellations: Penalties can reach 100%: from 14 days before in Akasaka, and from 5 days before in Mukojima. Tell the venue early if your plans change.
Can you see geisha on Tokyo's streets?
Don't plan your trip around a street sighting. We found no official page that lists a street schedule or viewing spot for geisha in Tokyo.
The reliable ways to meet geisha are the ones in this guide:
- a ticketed show, such as the Asakusa Ozashiki Odori
- a set programme, such as Soto Terrace or Benitsuya
- a private party through the Asakusa Kenban, a ryotei, Miyakodori or a hotel plan
We found no official street etiquette either. If you happen to see geisha in town, ask before taking a photo. Treat your booked show or dinner as your real geisha experience.

If a dinner doesn't fit your plans
- Short on time or budget: see a public show in Asakusa, or try the ¥6,000 lunch programme in Hachioji.
- Want a dinner without arranging it yourself: book a Benitsuya show in Shinbashi.
- Want a private daytime hour: Miyakodori lists a one-hour daytime party.
- Want a big stage show: watch the official sites for Kagurazaka Odori or Azuma Odori dates.
- Curious about Kanda Myojin: check the shrine's official site for any geisha culture programme.

Tokyo or Kyoto: how to compare geisha experiences
Compare specific offers, not general reputations. Use the same questions for each city.
| Question | What the Tokyo listings show | What to ask about a Kyoto offer |
|---|---|---|
| What format? | A public show, set programmes, teahouse and ryotei parties, a hotel plan | Is it a show, an event or a dinner? |
| What does the price cover? | Per seat, per person or per group | Are food, drinks and the geisha fee included? |
| What's the cheapest way in? | Asakusa seats were ¥5,000–¥6,000 in spring/summer 2026 (autumn not listed); Hachioji lunch is ¥6,000 | What is the lowest-priced format? |
| Can I talk with them? | English or Japanese at Akasaka Asada (see date note); bring your own interpreter elsewhere | Who provides the language support? |
| Does it fit my group? | Under-18s not admitted at Akasaka Asada; children limited in Mukojima | What are the age, access and diet rules? |
| Will I see trainees? | No Tokyo option in this guide promises hangyoku or maiko | Does the offer name maiko performers? |
For Kyoto's side, see the maiko guide linked in the terms section above. Doing both cities? See Tokyo to Kyoto by Shinkansen or night bus.

7Tokyo geisha experience FAQ
Here are the short answers. The Asakusa autumn 2026 show runs to 14 November and is the easiest first step. Dinner shows start at ¥22,000 per person at Benitsuya. English support and access vary by venue.
How much should I budget for a geisha experience in Tokyo?
Budget for a Tokyo geisha experience by format:
- Public show: ¥5,000–¥6,000 per seat at the Asakusa show in spring/summer 2026 (Taito City, checked 2 Nov 2026). The autumn price isn't listed.
- Set programme: ¥6,000 for lunch or ¥14,000 for the evening at Soto Terrace, Hachioji (Soto Terrace).
- Dinner show: ¥22,000 or ¥28,000 per person at Benitsuya, with meal, geisha fee and drinks included (Benitsuya).
- Ryotei evening: from ¥70,000 per person at Ryotei Irifune, including the geisha fee (Irifune).
- Group party: ¥100,000 per group of four at Miyakodori, or ¥160,000 for two at Akasaka Asada, whose current sales are unconfirmed (Miyakodori, The Capitol Hotel Tokyu).
Can I attend the Asakusa geisha show on the day?
Same-day entry to the Asakusa geisha show is possible in autumn 2026 (3 Oct–14 Nov), according to GO TOKYO. Shows start at 13:00 and 14:30. The page doesn't list the show days, the price or the same-day conditions. Call 03-3842-5566, the number Taito City listed for spring/summer, before you go.
Is English available at a geisha experience in Tokyo?
English support at a Tokyo geisha experience depends on the venue. The Akasaka Asada hotel plan offers conversation in English or Japanese (see date note). The Asakusa Kenban recommends that guests arrange their own interpreter, and the Mukojima ryotei programme requires an interpreter guide. The Asakusa show and Benitsuya pages don't mention English, so ask when you book.
Can I take photos with geisha in Tokyo?
You can photograph geisha in Tokyo only where the venue allows it. Soto Terrace in Hachioji lists a commemorative photo as part of its ozashiki experience. Other shows and dinners didn't publish photo rules, so ask the venue first. If you see geisha in the street, ask before you take a photo.
Are Tokyo geisha experiences wheelchair accessible?
Wheelchair access at Tokyo geisha experiences varies by venue. For the Asakusa show in spring/summer 2026, Taito City asked wheelchair users to phone ahead on 03-3842-5566. The Asakusa Kenban building has no elevator or slope, so it is not accessible. Benitsuya and the other venues didn't state their access, so ask when you book.
Sources (all checked 2 November 2026)

- Primary, city event listing: Taito City Culture Events, Asakusa Ozashiki Odori spring/summer 2026. Season ended.
- Primary, official Tokyo tourism listing: GO TOKYO, Asakusa Ozashiki Odori autumn 2026. Season runs 3 October–14 November 2026.
- Primary, kenban pages: Asakusa Kenban FAQ, ryotei list and contact.
- Primary, teahouse page: Machiai Chaya Miyakodori, pricing.
- Primary, official Tokyo tourism article (updated 31 March 2025; current prices unconfirmed): GO TOKYO, Asakusa and Tokyo Bay Edo culture and ozashiki games.
- Primary, restaurant pages: Ryotei Yukimoto and Kagurazaka Kappo Kaga.
- Primary, dinner show page: Benitsuya.
- Primary, hotel plan page (plan began 1 August 2018; current sales unconfirmed): The Capitol Hotel Tokyu, MAI at Akasaka Asada.
- Primary, tourism association rate sheet (November 2025, wholesale prices): Sumida City Tourism Association, Mukojima ryotei experience.
- Primary, ryotei page: Ryotei Irifune.
- Primary, programme pages: Soto Terrace, Geisha Terrace and Hachioji geisha ozashiki experience.
- Not found in the pages we checked: the Kanda Myojin geisha culture programme, Nihonbashi performances, definitions of hangyoku and maiko, and current details for Kagurazaka Odori and Azuma Odori.
Map links are searches for each named venue, area or address. Check them against your booking confirmation.
Related guides
Experiences and questions about this trip
Share your experience of this place or ask a question.












![BEST 7 Harajuku Sweets - Tokyo Street Food Snacks | Harajuku, Tokyo [4K]](https://i.ytimg.com/vi/1V8PytBe7Ak/mqdefault.jpg)


