Tsuruga Castle: Museum Tickets, Rinkaku Tea and Access
Contents
Tsuruga Castle stands in Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima Prefecture, and is known for its reconstructed keep with red roof tiles. A visit can include the keep museum and Rinkaku, a historic tea house on the castle grounds, but their admission and tea-service charges are separate products. Decide which places and services matter to you, then plan around their different last-entry and tea-order times.
This guide covers Tsuruga Castle in Aizuwakamatsu—not Tsuruga city in Fukui Prefecture. The prices and facility details below were checked against the castle’s official information on November 4, 2026. The tea-service price changes on December 1, 2026, so the date of your visit matters if you plan to order matcha.
Choose your visit and ticket
The keep museum and Rinkaku are separate parts of a visit, and a tea-house admission ticket does not include a serving of matcha. The castle also sells a ticket covering three named facilities, including Oyakuen, but that should not be read as admission to every attraction in Aizuwakamatsu. Check the name and inclusions of the ticket before paying.
The castle’s official visitor information lists the following prices and hours. The adult and child categories for the keep are presented as the facility’s own categories; the published information cited here does not specify an age boundary for the keep’s child price. Rinkaku’s page separately identifies elementary- and junior-high-school students as free for its admission.
| Visit or product | Published price | What it covers | Timing or qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Keep museum, individual adult | ¥410 | Keep museum admission | Open 08:30–17:00; last admission 16:30 |
| Keep museum, individual child | ¥150 | Keep museum admission under its child category | Check the facility’s eligibility details |
| Keep and Rinkaku combined ticket | ¥520 | The two named facilities | Check each facility’s relevant deadline |
| Keep, Rinkaku and Oyakuen three-facility ticket | ¥730 | The three named facilities | Check each facility’s arrangements |
| Rinkaku alone, adult | ¥210 | Admission to the tea-house site | Open 08:30–17:00; last admission 16:30 |
| Rinkaku alone, elementary- or junior-high-school student | Free | Rinkaku admission | This is Rinkaku’s stated category, not the keep’s |
| Matcha with confectionery through November 2026 | ¥600 | Tea service, including confectionery | Orders accepted until 16:00 |
| Matcha with confectionery from December 1, 2026 | ¥700 | Tea service, including confectionery | New price effective December 1 |
If you are considering the keep and Rinkaku together, the combined ticket is ¥520. The listed individual adult prices are ¥410 for the keep and ¥210 for Rinkaku, or ¥620 together, so the combined ticket is ¥100 less than buying those two adult admissions separately. That comparison does not include tea service, and it does not establish a price comparison for the three-facility ticket because no Oyakuen individual price is given here.
The tea-price change is not a change to keep admission. The official announcement says the matcha service is ¥600 through November 2026 and becomes ¥700 on December 1, 2026; it does not announce a revised keep fee or combined-ticket price. Check the dated Rinkaku tea-price announcement if your visit falls near the changeover.
Understand what is reconstructed
The castle’s history begins with Higashikurokawa-yakata in 1384, according to the official keep and museum history. The official account says Gamō Ujisato built a keep and named it Tsuruga Castle in 1593. During the Boshin War in 1868, the castle endured a siege that lasted about a month.
The buildings were demolished by 1874, so the present keep is not an unchanged structure that survived the siege. It is an exterior reconstruction completed in 1965. In 2011, its roof was changed to red tiles representing the castle’s late-shogunate-period appearance. These dates help distinguish the site’s older history from the modern building visitors see today.
The museum inside the keep adds context to the exterior. Its second level introduces successive lords, its third level covers the late shogunate and the Boshin War, and its fourth level introduces people associated with Aizu. The fifth level is an observation level overlooking Aizu. These themes offer a way to connect the building’s appearance with the people and events described in the museum.
Treat the museum’s floor descriptions as a guide to its themes, not as a guarantee that every display will be identical on every visit. If one exhibition is central to your plans, consult the current official museum information before travelling. The official descriptions establish the topics by level, but do not provide details here about every temporary display or any possible changes to the exhibition.
Make time for Rinkaku
Rinkaku is a tea house associated with Shōan, the son of Sen no Rikyū. Its history differs from that of the reconstructed keep: after the Boshin War, the tea house was moved into the castle town and preserved there before it returned to the castle grounds. The dedicated Rinkaku information describes both its connection to Shōan and this preservation history.
The Rinkaku page gives September 12, 1990, as the date it returned to the castle grounds. A separate castle chronology gives 1991, so the two official accounts do not match on the year. This guide uses the specific date given on Rinkaku’s dedicated page and preserves the discrepancy rather than combining the dates into a single chronology.
Rinkaku is listed as open from 08:30 to 17:00, with last admission at 16:30. Orders for matcha end earlier, at 16:00. If having tea is important to your visit, plan to arrive with time to enter and place your order before that earlier cutoff; reaching the last-admission time is not enough to meet the tea-order deadline.
Adult standalone admission to Rinkaku is ¥210. Elementary- and junior-high-school students are listed as free for Rinkaku admission, while a serving of matcha with confectionery has its own charge. Keep those items separate when comparing prices: admission lets you visit the site, and the tea service is a further purchase. The tea charge is ¥600 through November 2026 and ¥700 from December 1, 2026.
Arrive by the right route
The address is 1-1 Ōtemachi, Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima. Include both “Aizuwakamatsu” and “Fukushima” when searching for the destination, since a search for “Tsuruga” alone may bring up Tsuruga city in Fukui Prefecture instead. Saving the street address as well as the full city and prefecture can help keep your transport and map searches focused on the correct castle.
The castle’s official access information describes several approaches. From Tokyo, it gives a route by Tohoku Shinkansen to Koriyama, followed by a transfer to the Ban-etsu West Line for Aizuwakamatsu. It also lists a highway bus from Shinjuku to Wakamatsu Station, a bus from Sendai toward Tsurugajō/Gōdōchōsha, and a route from Fukushima Airport by bus to Koriyama.
Use those descriptions to identify a possible approach, not as a live timetable or fare quotation. The official route information cited here does not establish current departure times, current fares, a final local connection for every itinerary, or a universal station-to-castle walking time. Once you know your travel date and starting point, check the actual service with the relevant transport operator and confirm the local leg in both directions.
For a car visit, the castle lists three parking areas: Nishidemaru has space for 200 ordinary cars, the east entrance for 129, and the south entrance for 35. The stated charge is ¥200 for the first hour, followed by ¥100 for each additional hour. These are listed capacities, not a guarantee that a space will be available when you arrive, so choose the car park that suits your approach and check its current conditions.
A practical route-planning sequence is:
- Save “Tsuruga Castle, Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima” and the address, 1-1 Ōtemachi.
- Choose one of the approaches described on the official access page that matches your starting point.
- Check the current transport departures and fares for your travel date with the relevant operator.
- Confirm the local connection to the castle and your return journey before setting out.
- If driving, select a listed parking area and allow for its stated charge.
The access page is the place to compare the approaches named by the castle, while operators’ current information is needed for date-specific schedules and fares. Do not assume that a route description establishes a last bus or train, or that it includes the final leg to the entrance. If that last connection matters to your day, verify it before leaving.
Tickets, payment and seasonal planning
The keep museum is listed as open daily from 08:30 to 17:00, with last admission at 16:30. “Open daily” describes its published normal schedule; it is not confirmation that no temporary condition will affect a particular future date. Check the official pages close to your visit if a closure, exhibition arrangement or access detail could change your plans.
At the ticket window, the official information says payment is in Japanese-yen cash. Web tickets allow credit cards and other listed methods. These are different purchasing channels: do not assume that a payment method accepted online will also be accepted at the physical window. If you need to pay without cash, check the actual web-ticket product and its conditions before travelling.
A visit built around tea needs to work backward from the 16:00 order deadline, rather than from the keep’s 16:30 last admission. If you plan to visit both facilities, check the two admission deadlines as well as the tea cutoff. Add the travel time for your own route and any other destination using its current information; the published closing time for one facility should not be treated as a closing time for the whole city.
Cherry blossoms, autumn colours and winter conditions can shape a visit, but a photograph or an earlier report cannot establish what you will find on a particular day. The information cited here does not confirm bloom or foliage conditions for a future date, or whether a path will be icy in winter. Check current local information before making a seasonal view the reason for a fixed travel plan.
If access arrangements affect whether you can visit, ask the facility directly about the specific need. The floor-by-floor museum outline does not establish step-free access between all levels, upper-level access arrangements, storage facilities or photography rules. Confirming those details ahead of time is more reliable than inferring them from the museum’s exhibition descriptions.
Practical questions
Is the keep an original building?
No. The official history says the castle buildings had been demolished by 1874 and identifies the present keep as an exterior reconstruction completed in 1965. Its red roof tiles were restored in 2011 to represent the late-shogunate-period appearance. The reconstructed exterior and the history of the site are both part of what the museum visit explains.
Does the keep ticket include Rinkaku and tea?
Not automatically: the official prices distinguish keep admission, Rinkaku admission, combined tickets and tea service. The keep-and-Rinkaku ticket is ¥520, while the three-facility ticket names the keep, Rinkaku and Oyakuen. Matcha with confectionery is listed as a separate charge, so check the product and inclusions before you buy.
What time should I arrive if I want matcha?
Rinkaku’s published opening hours are 08:30–17:00, and its last admission is 16:30. Matcha orders end at 16:00, which is the earlier deadline to plan around if tea is essential. Allow enough time to reach Rinkaku and order before 16:00 rather than treating the last-admission time as the tea-service cutoff.
How much does the tea service cost?
The November 2026 information lists matcha with confectionery at ¥600 through the end of that month. The announced price is ¥700 from December 1, 2026. This change applies to the tea-service charge, not to the keep museum’s admission price.
Are children admitted free?
The keep’s listed child admission is ¥150, and the cited information does not state the age boundary for that category. Rinkaku separately lists elementary- and junior-high-school students as free for its admission. Do not apply Rinkaku’s student category to the keep, and check with the facility if you need to confirm which category applies to a particular child.
Can I pay by card at the ticket window?
The official information says the physical ticket window accepts Japanese-yen cash. Web tickets allow credit cards and other listed methods, but that does not mean the window accepts those same methods. If cashless payment is necessary, check the conditions of the actual online ticket before relying on it.
What route should I use from Tokyo?
The official access page describes taking the Tohoku Shinkansen to Koriyama and changing to the Ban-etsu West Line for Aizuwakamatsu. It also lists a highway bus from Shinjuku to Wakamatsu Station as an approach. Check current timetables, fares and the final local connection for your travel date; the route descriptions alone do not establish those details.
Is this the Tsuruga Castle in Fukui?
This guide is about the castle at 1-1 Ōtemachi, Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima Prefecture. It is not a guide to Tsuruga city in Fukui Prefecture. Include “Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima” in a map or transport search to reduce the chance of selecting the wrong destination.











