
Geisha Experience Togura Kamiyamada: Shows and Booking
Contents
- 1. What a Geisha Experience in Togura Kamiyamada Includes
- 2. Geisha Experience in Togura Kamiyamada: Prices and Sharing
- 3. Geisha Experience in Togura Kamiyamada: Show, Banquet and Meals
- 4. How to Book a Geisha Experience in Togura Kamiyamada
- 5. Getting to Togura Kamiyamada for the Geisha Experience
- 6. FAQ
You can arrange a geisha experience at Kamesei Ryokan, a traditional Japanese inn in Togura Kamiyamada Onsen, Chikuma City, Nagano. The inn’s English dining and entertainment page describes a 30-minute, interactive-style show, and its May 19, 2026 blog post says the show is for guests staying at the inn. You must arrange the show in advance; contact Kamesei early so there is time for the performers to prepare.
The key planning point is that the listed prices differ by source and date. The May 2026 post lists 26,400 yen for a standard show with two performers, charged per group rather than per person, while the inn’s undated English page lists a show from 20,000 yen. Treat these as published guide prices, not a confirmed current quote, and ask the inn for the final amount when you enquire.
What a Geisha Experience in Togura Kamiyamada Includes
A geisha is a woman trained to entertain guests through traditional arts such as dance and music, as well as party games. Togura Kamiyamada is a hot spring town in Chikuma City, Nagano; a natural hot spring is called an onsen in Japanese. The Japan National Tourism Organization (JNTO) says visitors can join geisha performances in Chikuma and reports that the local tourism office began efforts to revive geisha culture in 2021 (JNTO’s account of sustainable onsen tourism).




The 30-minute experience at Kamesei is presented as an ozashiki-style gathering. Ozashiki refers to a party in a room where geisha entertain guests; it does not, by itself, mean that the event is a formal stage performance. Kamesei’s English page describes an interactive show with a dancer and a shamisen player, and the May 2026 post gives a fuller picture of the activities guests may encounter.
Who performs and what happens
The standard format described in the 2026 price listing involves two performers: one dancer and one shamisen player. A shamisen is a Japanese three-stringed instrument. The listed fee is calculated by adding the rates for the two geisha, rather than charging each guest individually.
The inn’s English page says the show includes several dances, games with the geisha, and a circle dance in which guests join in. The May 2026 post also shows Konpira fune fune, a traditional party game, and Tanko bushi, a folk dance that guests learn together. These are different activities: Konpira fune fune is a game, while Tanko bushi is a dance.
The 2026 post shows photo-taking with the geisha near the end of the experience. That detail is useful when planning the evening, but the sources do not specify the exact time allowed for photographs or any photo restrictions. If photos are important to your group, ask the inn what is permitted when you book.
The activities make the show participatory as well as something to watch. Guests can see the performers’ dances and music, then join the group dance or games if they wish. The published descriptions do not explain how games are adapted for guests who do not drink alcohol, so ask the inn if that is relevant to your group.
Local context and other geisha experiences
JNTO describes geisha performances as part of Chikuma’s cultural tourism and says the local tourism office began working to bring geisha culture back in 2021. It also reports that Chikuma’s work was selected for the 2025 Green Destinations Top 100, a list recognizing destinations’ efforts concerning nature and culture. These points provide context for the performance, but they do not change the practical booking conditions at Kamesei.
There have also been other geisha-related activities in the area. In a post dated December 30, 2024, the Shinshu Chikuma Tourism Bureau introduced a special tour for overseas visitors at Hounen-mushi, a venue at Sasaya Hotel; the described activities included wearing kimono for photographs and an ozashiki experience with geisha (the tourism bureau’s past tour post). This is a past special-tour listing, not confirmation that the tour is still on sale in 2026.
If you are comparing destinations, a Kyoto maiko experience is a different option: a maiko is a young geisha in training. Yamanaka Onsen is another hot spring destination with geisha, and the existing guide to Yamanaka Onsen provides a separate comparison. A Tokyo tour near Skytree and Asakusa, also mentioned in the existing page’s video material, involves different venues and bookings; it is not part of Kamesei’s Togura Kamiyamada experience.
Geisha Experience in Togura Kamiyamada: Prices and Sharing
The available official pages give different prices, so it is important to keep each amount tied to its source and date. The newest dated price information is in Kamesei’s post from May 19, 2026: it lists 13,200 yen per geisha for a 30-minute show. With the standard two-person combination of a dancer and shamisen player, that makes 26,400 yen for the group.
| Option | Published price | Duration | Source and qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| One geisha | 13,200 yen | 30 minutes | Kamesei blog, May 19, 2026 |
| Standard show with dancer and shamisen player | 26,400 yen per group | 30 minutes | Kamesei blog, May 19, 2026; not a per-person fee |
| Example of 12 guests sharing the standard show | About 2,200 yen per person | 30 minutes | Sharing calculation given in the May 2026 post |
| Banquet visit | 22,000 yen per geisha | 2 hours | Kamesei blog, May 19, 2026 |
| English-page show listing | From 20,000 yen | 30 minutes | Kamesei English page; no date shown |
| Older tourism-brochure listing | From 20,000 yen | 30 minutes | Chikuma tourism bureau brochure, 2019 |
The dated May 2026 article and undated English page do not show the same amount. The 2019 tourism brochure also lists a 30-minute show from 20,000 yen, but that is an old price and should not be treated as the current charge. The inn has not confirmed in these sources which amount it uses today, so ask directly for the price that applies to your booking.
How sharing the show fee works
The 26,400-yen standard show price is for the group, not each guest. Kamesei’s May 2026 post says that guests staying at the inn can share a show with other staying guests, and it gives the example of 12 people paying about 2,200 yen each. Sharing is therefore a way to divide the listed group fee, but you should confirm with the inn whether other guests can join on your chosen date.
The following figures are simple divisions of 26,400 yen. They are examples based on the published amount, not separate quotes from the inn.
| Number of people sharing | Approximate amount per person |
|---|---|
| 2 | 13,200 yen |
| 4 | 6,600 yen |
| 6 | 4,400 yen |
| 12 | About 2,200 yen |
The post’s example of 12 people refers to sharing the price; it is not a guarantee that 12 performers will appear or that a group of that size is available for every show. The post also describes activity involving about 12 people, which should not be confused with the number of geisha booked. Ask the inn how it handles payment and how many guests can share the performance you are arranging.
Geisha Experience in Togura Kamiyamada: Show, Banquet and Meals
Kamesei describes two formats: a 30-minute show and a two-hour banquet visit. The show has a published outline of dances, games, a circle dance and photos, while the banquet is described as an occasion for geisha to join your dinner. The information available for the banquet is less detailed, so confirm its arrangements and final cost with the inn before deciding.
Show or banquet?
| Detail | 30-minute show | Two-hour banquet visit |
|---|---|---|
| Duration | 30 minutes | 2 hours |
| Listed amount | 26,400 yen for two performers in the May 2026 post; the undated English page lists from 20,000 yen | 22,000 yen per geisha in the May 2026 post |
| Usual timing | 18:00–18:30 | Not listed; ask the inn |
| Activities described | Dances, games, a circle dance and photos near the end | Geisha join your dinner; other details are not listed |
| Sharing with other guests | The May 2026 post says sharing is possible | Not stated in the available information |
For a first visit, the 30-minute show has the clearest published format and a stated usual time. Its group price can be divided if other staying guests join, although the inn needs to confirm whether sharing is possible for your date. The banquet gives you more time with the geisha, but the sources do not describe its schedule, activities in detail, or whether it can be shared.
The banquet price is listed per geisha, so ask how many performers are needed for your group and what the total would be. Do not assume that the 22,000-yen figure covers the entire group or the full dinner. The published information does not settle those details.
Group size and an example evening
Kamesei lists a banquet hall with a stage that can hold up to 50 people. This is the stated capacity of the room, not a promise that a geisha performance can be booked for 50 guests. Larger groups should discuss the event directly with the inn, including the performers, schedule and total charge.
The show’s usual time is 18:00–18:30. Kamesei lists dinner start times of 18:00, 18:30 and 19:00, so an 18:30 or 19:00 dinner can follow the usual show time more comfortably than an 18:00 dinner. The inn’s listed breakfast start times are 7:30, 8:00 and 8:30.
| Time | Possible plan |
|---|---|
| Before 18:00 | Arrive, check in and settle in before the show |
| 18:00–18:30 | Attend the usual 30-minute geisha show |
| 18:30 or 19:00 | Begin dinner after the show |
| Next morning | Choose from the listed breakfast start times: 7:30, 8:00 or 8:30 |
This is a planning example, not a fixed itinerary supplied by the inn. Allow enough time to arrive and check in before 18:00, and confirm your dinner time when arranging your stay. If you are new to Japanese hot springs, read a Japan onsen etiquette guide before your visit so you know what to expect at a bath.
Dining and food requests
Kamesei’s regular dining room has tables and chairs, which is useful for guests who find floor seating difficult. The inn’s English cuisine page lists meal options including vegetarian and gluten-free choices. For special meal requests, the inn asks for at least one day’s notice, so mention dietary needs when you contact it rather than waiting until the meal.
The cuisine page also has a section for optional dishes, meaning extra items that can be added to a meal. Menus and prices can change, and the available information here does not provide a stable list of those dishes or their current costs. Check the inn’s current cuisine information and ask how and when to order any extras.
Other performances and past tours
Kamesei also lists Japanese taiko drumming and shishimai, a lion dance, as entertainment it can arrange. These are separate performances from the geisha show; they should not be assumed to be included in its 30-minute programme. If you want taiko or shishimai, ask the inn about arrangements and pricing when you enquire.
The tourism bureau’s December 2024 post describes a different past activity for overseas visitors at Hounen-mushi, at Sasaya Hotel. The tour included kimono-clad photography and an ozashiki experience with geisha. It is useful as evidence of a previous special tour, but it does not confirm that the same tour is currently offered or bookable in 2026.
How to Book a Geisha Experience in Togura Kamiyamada
Book the show in advance because the performers need time to prepare. Kamesei’s May 2026 post describes the show as being for guests staying at the inn, so the clearest route in the available information is to arrange a stay and contact the inn about the performance. If you are not staying there, ask whether day visitors can join; the sources do not confirm that they can.
Start with the inn’s English cuisine and entertainment page, which describes the 30-minute show and its usual time. The official contact number listed in the May 2026 post is 026-275-1032. If calling from outside Japan, check that your phone plan supports international voice calls; the available sources do not specify an alternative booking channel or booking form for the show.
When you contact the inn, explain which format you are interested in: the 30-minute show or the two-hour banquet visit. The usual show time is 18:00–18:30, and the English page says other times require prior discussion. Ask whether your preferred time can be arranged rather than assuming the standard time can be changed.
It is also worth asking whether other staying guests can share the show, what the current total price is, and how payment is handled. The published prices differ, and the sharing example is not a guarantee that another group will be available. If you have questions about English-speaking assistance, interpreter fees, or games for guests who do not drink alcohol, raise them during booking; these details are not confirmed in the available sources.
Kamesei’s 2026 post says it has arranged a show as late as the day before in the past, but that example is not a promise of next-day availability. Contact the inn as early as you can so there is time to check arrangements. You do not need to wait until arrival to ask about the show.
Common booking mistakes to avoid
| Potential mistake | More reliable approach |
|---|---|
| Waiting until arrival to ask | Contact the inn before your trip because advance arrangement is required. |
| Assuming day visitors can attend | The May 2026 post describes the show for staying guests; ask the inn directly if you are not staying there. |
| Treating 26,400 yen as a per-person price | It is listed for the two-performer group show; ask how the group fee applies to your party. |
| Relying on one online price | The May 2026 post and undated English page show different amounts, so request the current total. |
| Scheduling dinner for 18:00 | The usual show runs from 18:00 to 18:30; ask about an 18:30 or 19:00 dinner instead. |
| Assuming English assistance is available on the day | English booking information is available, but on-the-day language support and interpreter fees are not confirmed. |
| Arriving just before the performance | Plan to reach the inn and check in well before the usual 18:00 start. |
These checks are especially useful if you are coordinating a shared show or a group dinner. Confirm the show format, number of performers, timing and full charge together, rather than relying on separate assumptions. For a special meal request, give the inn at least one day’s notice as it asks.
Getting to Togura Kamiyamada for the Geisha Experience
Kamesei Ryokan’s address is 2-15-1 Kamiyamada Onsen, Chikuma City, Nagano. You can open the location in Google Maps. The inn’s contact number is 026-275-1032, as listed in its May 2026 post.
The official information available for this guide does not specify a nearest station, a train or bus route, travel times, or the final leg from a station to the inn. Rather than guessing about public transport or a walk, ask Kamesei for directions that fit your travel date. The inn’s English page is also a place to check its current information.
| What you need | What is confirmed | Where to check |
|---|---|---|
| Address | 2-15-1 Kamiyamada Onsen, Chikuma City, Nagano | Google Maps |
| Phone | 026-275-1032 | Kamesei’s May 2026 post |
| Nearest station | Not listed in the available sources | Ask the inn |
| Bus, taxi or walking directions from a station | Not listed in the available sources | Ask the inn for the final leg |
| Travel time | Not listed in the available sources | Ask the inn and check a map for your date |
| Usual show start | 18:00 | Kamesei’s English page |
To plan the route, contact the inn and ask what train or bus route it recommends. Write down the station name, the final part of the journey and the expected travel time, then compare those details with a map app for your travel date and arrival time. Work backwards from the usual 18:00 show to leave time for the journey, check-in and a short rest.
Save the address and phone number on your phone before setting out, especially if you may not have a reliable connection during the trip. The tourism bureau’s pages may provide additional local information when available, but the bureau’s inbound-tour page was under maintenance when checked on November 3, 2026. Do not treat its past tour information as a current transport or booking service.
FAQ
The following answers distinguish what Kamesei’s published information confirms from details that still need to be checked directly. The clearest current dated information in the available sources is the inn’s May 19, 2026 post, while its English cuisine page has no date shown. Because the prices differ, verify the relevant arrangements with the inn before committing to travel or a dinner schedule.
Can I attend the show without staying at Kamesei Ryokan?
The May 2026 post describes the show as being for guests staying at the inn. The available sources do not say whether day visitors can attend, so do not assume that you can book the performance without a stay. Ask Kamesei directly if you are not planning to stay there.
How much does the geisha show cost?
Kamesei’s May 2026 post lists 13,200 yen per geisha, or 26,400 yen for the standard two-performer show. The inn says that price is for the group, not each person, and gives an example of about 2,200 yen per person when 12 people share. Its undated English page lists a show from 20,000 yen, so ask the inn for the amount that applies to your date.
Can guests share the cost?
The May 2026 post says the show can be shared with other staying guests and gives the 12-person example. The calculation depends on how many people share the group fee, and the inn needs to confirm whether other guests can join on your date. Ask how the sharing arrangement and payment will work before you book.
Is the two-hour banquet the same as the 30-minute show?
No; Kamesei lists them as separate formats. The May 2026 post lists a two-hour banquet visit at 22,000 yen per geisha, while the standard show is described as a 30-minute performance with two performers. The banquet details are limited, so confirm the number of geisha, dinner arrangements and total price with the inn.
Is English-speaking help available during the experience?
Kamesei provides English information about arranging entertainment on its official website. However, the available sources do not confirm whether an English-speaking geisha or staff member will be present during the show, or whether interpreter support is available. Ask about language assistance and any interpreter fee when booking.
How far ahead should I book?
The inn says the show must be arranged in advance and asks guests to contact it early because the geisha need time to prepare. Its 2026 post mentions a past arrangement made the day before, but that does not guarantee last-minute availability. Contact Kamesei as early as you can, especially if you need a particular date or time.
Are the listed prices guaranteed to be current?
No. The May 2026 post lists 26,400 yen for two performers, while the undated English page lists a 30-minute show from 20,000 yen; the 2019 tourism brochure also lists from 20,000 yen. Those published amounts do not establish the price for a new booking, so request a current quote directly from the inn.




![Kyoto, Hanamachi Miyagawacho - Geisha District in Kyoto [4K] POV](https://i.ytimg.com/vi/2tGT1XobPgg/mqdefault.jpg)






