
Akita Maiko Experience in Noshiro: Kaneyu Guide
Contents
- 1. What happens during the Akita maiko experience?
- 2. Kaneyu: the historic building and free viewing
- 3. Prices and what to include in your budget
- 4. Times, season and building hours
- 5. How to book the experience
- 6. Getting to Kaneyu in Noshiro
- 7. Mistakes to avoid before you go
- 8. Frequently asked questions
You can watch Akita maiko perform at Kaneyu, a former high-class restaurant in Noshiro, Akita Prefecture. The one-hour experience includes a dance, a chance to talk with the performers and time for commemorative photos; a meal featuring local food can be added. The listed prices are ¥47,000 for two maiko or ¥67,900 for three, with room, service and meal costs charged separately. The experience is offered year-round, but you need to book at least three days ahead through the official experience contact.
Kaneyu is the setting for the performance, not the maiko’s home district. The experience is called “Experience Akita Maiko at Kaneyu” on the Visit Shirakami official experience page. Below, you’ll find what is included, how the prices work, how to request a booking, and how to reach the building.
What happens during the Akita maiko experience?
A maiko is a young traditional performer who dances and entertains guests. JNTO describes Akita maiko as carrying on the tradition of the Kawabata geisha, the historic entertainers of Akita City. The current experience brings the performers to Kaneyu in Noshiro, so it is useful to distinguish the performance location from the district associated with the tradition. See JNTO’s introduction to Akita maiko for additional cultural context.




The scheduled experience lasts one hour. The official description includes watching a traditional dance, talking with the maiko afterwards and taking commemorative photographs. The Tohoku Tourism introduction also describes conversation and photos following the performance. A local-food meal is an optional addition, not part of the listed base price.
The listed plan options refer to the number of maiko: two or three performers. They do not specify the number of guests a booking can accommodate, so ask the organizer how the plan applies to your party size. The official experience information does not list ozashiki games, or banquet party games, as part of the program. If games are important to you, ask about them when you enquire rather than assuming they are included.
JNTO also introduces an additional experience involving wearing a kimono and taking photographs with the maiko. The information available here does not give its price or establish whether it can be added to every Kaneyu booking. Ask the operator whether it is currently available and whether it can be combined with the dance or meal plan. Treat it as a separate enquiry, not as part of the one-hour experience or its listed price.
Kaneyu: the historic building and free viewing
Kaneyu opened in 1937 as a high-class ryotei, a traditional Japanese restaurant for special guests, according to the Visit Shirakami 2025 pamphlet. The building is made using natural Akita cedar and is surrounded by a Japanese garden. Its historic interiors provide the setting for the maiko experience, but the building can also be viewed without booking a performance.
The Kaneyu official website identifies the facility as a Registered Tangible Cultural Property of Japan. JNTO’s page uses a different cultural-property description, so this guide follows the facility’s own designation rather than treating the labels as interchangeable. If the building’s status is important to your visit, consult Kaneyu’s official site for its own description.
Normal building entry is free during viewing hours, which are 9:30–16:30. That free visit is different from the paid maiko experience: it does not, by itself, include a performance, conversation or photographs with the maiko. Room rental is a separate service and is listed as available by reservation from 9:00 to 21:00. The facility closes from December 29 to January 3.
The 2025 Visit Shirakami pamphlet says visitors can arrange lunch or dinner at Kaneyu with a reservation. However, the maiko experience page lists daytime start times only, so the pamphlet’s dinner information should not be taken as confirmation of an evening maiko performance. Ask directly if you want to discuss an evening meal or a combination with the performance.
Prices and what to include in your budget
The current listed maiko prices are ¥47,000 for two performers and ¥67,900 for three performers. Both plans are for a one-hour experience. The official experience page states that room, service and meal costs are additional, but it does not give those extra amounts. The figures below are therefore the listed performance-plan prices, not a confirmed all-in total.
| Plan | Listed price | Included duration | Additional costs stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Two maiko | ¥47,000 | 1 hour | Room fee, service fee and any meal |
| Three maiko | ¥67,900 | 1 hour | Room fee, service fee and any meal |
Before confirming, request one written estimate for your party. Ask whether the listed plan price applies to the booking as a whole or is calculated another way, because the published information does not specify the basis. Have the estimate show the performer plan, room fee, service fee and meal charge separately, then confirm the total for your intended party size. The published details also do not state whether the listed amounts include tax, so ask if you need that information for budgeting.
Do not confuse an older city pamphlet price with the current experience listing. A previous Noshiro City tourism pamphlet described a maiko-and-tour package from ¥33,500, but that historical figure does not match the current Visit Shirakami prices and should not be used as the current rate. For planning, use the current two- and three-maiko prices above and ask the operator to confirm the final amount.
Keep travel and accommodation costs separate from the Kaneyu estimate. The experience page does not include transport in the listed prices, and the final meal and room costs need to be confirmed directly. If you are comparing this visit with other activities, compare the confirmed total for the same party size and inclusions rather than comparing only the base figures.
Times, season and building hours
The maiko experience is listed as running throughout the year, with four start times: 10:30, 11:30, 12:30 and 13:30. The 13:30 start is not available with the lunch plan. If you want lunch, select one of the earlier times and confirm the meal arrangement when booking. These are experience start times, not the building’s general viewing hours.
| Service | Published times or dates |
|---|---|
| Maiko experience starts | 10:30, 11:30, 12:30 or 13:30 |
| Lunch plan restriction | Not available for the 13:30 start |
| Building viewing | 9:30–16:30 |
| Room rental | 9:00–21:00, by reservation |
| Telephone reception | 9:30–17:00 |
| Facility closure | December 29–January 3 |
The schedule for the experience and the schedule for general visits are separate. For example, Kaneyu’s viewing hours begin at 9:30, while the earliest listed maiko start is 10:30. Room rental runs later than viewing hours, but that does not establish that the maiko experience is available in the evening. Check with the operator for any arrangement not shown on the experience page.
The experience runs year-round according to Visit Shirakami, but the building’s year-end closure still matters when choosing a date. Avoid December 29 through January 3 for a visit to the facility. If your plans fall near those dates, confirm the specific date with Kaneyu before arranging transport.
How to book the experience
Book at least three days before your preferred date. The experience information gives this minimum lead time, and JNTO explains that advance booking is needed because the performers’ schedules must be coordinated. Booking earlier is a practical choice if your travel dates are fixed, but the published information does not promise availability for any particular date. No reservation has been made on your behalf by this guide.
You can request a booking by email at kaneyu@shirakami.or.jp or by calling 0185-55-3355. The experience information says telephone support is Japanese-only, so email is the more practical first contact if you do not speak Japanese. Kaneyu’s official site lists telephone reception from 9:30 to 17:00. The official facility website has language-selection links, but those links do not guarantee that staff can handle an individual booking in English.
Include the details the operator needs to understand your request: your preferred date and start time, the number of people in your party, whether you want two or three maiko, and whether you are interested in a meal. Ask for the complete price, including room, service and meal fees, and request the cancellation conditions before you confirm. The published experience information does not provide cancellation terms, so do not assume a particular deadline or refund policy.
A clear enquiry can also ask about details that are not specified on the official experience page. For example, confirm whether the proposed time is available, whether the quoted plan amount is for the group, and whether the operator can communicate with you in your preferred language. If you want games, the kimono photo activity or an evening meal, ask whether each is currently offered and what it would cost. Wait for the operator’s confirmation before treating the booking as arranged.
Getting to Kaneyu in Noshiro
Kaneyu’s address is 13-8 Yanagimachi, Noshiro, Akita. Save the Kaneyu map location before travelling, and check that the destination shown is the Kaneyu building in Noshiro. Keeping the venue pin alongside your station or airport destination can make the final leg easier to plan.
From JR Noshiro Station, Kaneyu is about a 10-minute walk, according to JNTO. Use the saved address or map pin to guide the walk; the official information supplied here does not specify a particular station exit or step-by-step street route. If you need a route that accounts for mobility requirements or luggage, confirm the best approach before setting out. Do not assume that the experience booking includes transport.
Odate-Noshiro Airport is about 40 minutes away by car, as reported by JNTO. Check current transport options and schedules for your travel date, because the information here does not establish a particular bus service or timetable. If you are arranging a car or taxi, confirm the pickup and drop-off plan separately. The airport journey time is an approximate car journey, not a guarantee of travel time.
Mistakes to avoid before you go
Assuming the listed price is the total: the two- and three-maiko prices do not include the separately stated room, service and meal fees. Ask for a written total before confirming so you can budget for the complete plan. Do not use the older ¥33,500 city-pamphlet figure as the current price.
Booking too late or choosing a meal time that does not work: the minimum booking lead time is three days, and the 13:30 start cannot be used with the lunch plan. Select an earlier listed time if you want lunch, then ask the operator to confirm the details. Earlier enquiries may give you more time to adjust your plans, but no availability is guaranteed.
Calling in English or assuming English booking support: the experience listing says the telephone service is Japanese-only. Email the official address if you need to ask about language support, and do not treat the facility website’s language-selection links as proof that a staff member can conduct a booking in English. Ask for any important arrangements in writing.
Expecting games or add-ons without checking: the official program information lists dance, conversation and photographs, not ozashiki games. JNTO mentions a kimono photo activity, but the details and current availability are not specified here. Ask about each additional activity rather than assuming it is included in the base experience.
Arriving in thin socks during winter: Visit Shirakami recommends bringing warm socks for winter. Kaneyu is a historic building, and warm socks are a useful preparation for spending time there. Follow the facility’s instructions on arrival and do not assume that a particular footwear arrangement is part of the booking.
Treating a free building visit as a maiko booking: general admission to Kaneyu is free during viewing hours, but the performance is a separate paid experience that requires advance booking. A walk-in visit lets you view the building during its published hours; it does not reserve the performers or include the one-hour program. Plan the two activities separately if you want to do both.
Frequently asked questions
How much does the Akita maiko experience cost?
The listed price is ¥47,000 for two maiko or ¥67,900 for three maiko, for a one-hour experience. Room, service and meal fees are additional, and the available information does not give their amounts. Ask the operator for a complete written estimate and confirm how the plan price applies to your party.
Can I book in English?
The experience information says that telephone support is Japanese-only, so email kaneyu@shirakami.or.jp if you need to ask about language support. The official Kaneyu website provides language-selection links, but they do not confirm that staff can manage a booking in English. Ask the operator directly and wait for a clear response before relying on language assistance.
Does the experience run all year?
Visit Shirakami lists the maiko experience as available throughout the year. Kaneyu itself closes from December 29 to January 3, so those dates are not suitable for a normal visit to the building. Confirm your exact date with the operator, especially if it is close to the closure period.
Can I book the 13:30 start with lunch?
No: the published experience information says the 13:30 slot is not available with the lunch plan. The other listed starts are 10:30, 11:30 and 12:30, but you should still ask the operator to confirm your preferred date and time. Meal charges are additional, so include them in your request for a full estimate.
Are ozashiki games included?
The official experience description lists a dance, photographs and an opportunity to talk with the maiko. It does not list ozashiki games as part of the program. If games are important to you, ask the operator whether they are offered for your booking rather than assuming they will be available.
Can I visit Kaneyu without booking the maiko experience?
Yes. Normal entry to the building is free during viewing hours, published as 9:30–16:30. That visit is separate from the paid performance, and it does not include a maiko appearance. The facility is closed from December 29 to January 3.
Is the older ¥33,500 price still valid?
The ¥33,500 figure appears in an older Noshiro City tourism pamphlet for a maiko-and-tour package. It does not match the current listed prices on the Visit Shirakami experience page. Use the current ¥47,000 and ¥67,900 plan figures as the published starting points, then ask for the additional charges and final total.
What should I ask about if I need special arrangements?
The published information does not specify cancellation terms, English-language booking support, or accessibility and assistance arrangements. Ask about any of these before confirming if they affect your plans. You can also enquire about the kimono photo activity, games or evening meals, but their availability and costs should be confirmed directly.
Information in this guide was checked on November 3, 2026. Experience prices and booking details are based on the current Visit Shirakami listing; the 2025 pamphlet and older city-pamphlet price are identified as historical where relevant.




![Kyoto, Hanamachi Miyagawacho - Geisha District in Kyoto [4K] POV](https://i.ytimg.com/vi/2tGT1XobPgg/mqdefault.jpg)






