
Niigata Furumachi Geigi Experience: Prices and Booking
Contents
You can arrange a 60-minute private Furumachi geigi experience for a listed base price of ¥80,000 or ¥130,000, tax included, or book geigi to join a meal at a traditional restaurant called a ryotei. These are separate products: a ryotei meal costs extra, and its geigi flower fee is charged separately from the food. For the private plan, check the current venue details on the official Niigata tourism plan page; for help finding a ryotei, consult the official English guide to Niigata geigi.
What Is a Niigata Furumachi Geigi Experience?
Geigi is the term used for geisha in Niigata, and the prefecture’s English-language guide uses “geigi” when introducing the tradition to international visitors. A performance may include Japanese dance and music, while a meal visit can also include conversation and party games, depending on what is arranged. The private plan and a ryotei booking are not interchangeable: the former has a stated 60-minute duration and listed venue prices, while the restaurant sets the meal arrangements and charges a separate flower fee.



Furumachi is Niigata City’s geigi district, or hanamachi. Ryuto Shinko, the company that trains geigi, works to pass on the arts and hospitality of the Furumachi hanamachi; see the company’s official website. The official city tourism account of one visit describes dance, songs and a game with guests, but it is a report of that particular visit rather than a promise of the program at every booking.
Furisode-san and tomesode-san
Furumachi uses two names for its geigi. “Furisode-san” refers to a young geigi, while “tomesode-san” refers to a geigi with more experience. These terms describe the geigi; they do not indicate different private-plan prices or different booking products in the official plan information.
Dance, music and songs
The dance is associated with Ichiyama-ryu, a school of Japanese dance, and the drum and other percussion with Mochizuki-ryu. In the city tourism bureau’s account of one visit, the geigi performed “Shiki no Niigata,” “Niigata Okesa” and “Niigata Kouta.” Those three songs are details of the reported visit, not a confirmed set list for future bookings; ask the booking contact what is planned for your date. The official English culture guide provides further cultural background.
What one reported visit included
The Niigata Convention & Visitors Bureau describes one visit in which geigi danced, performed three songs and played taruken with the guests. The visit ended with a group photograph. Treat these details as an example of one experience, not as a guarantee that every booking includes the same songs, game or photo opportunity; confirm the planned program and photo arrangements with your contact.
Games and Manners: Taruken and What to Ask
Ozashiki asobi means party games played with geigi, and taruken is one example reported in Niigata. The game described by the city tourism bureau uses a barrel and rock-paper-scissors, so it is a participatory activity rather than only a performance to watch. The rules below reflect that one official visit report; ask whether a game is planned for your own booking.
How taruken works
In the reported game, players tap a barrel while playing janken, the Japanese name for rock-paper-scissors. A player who loses turns around once on the spot, and the contest is decided when someone wins three times in a row. A drink was part of the reported game, but the available information does not make drinking a requirement for all guests or all visits; tell the booking contact in advance if you do not drink alcohol.
A simple preparation checklist
| Situation | Practical step |
|---|---|
| Photos | Ask your contact whether and when photos are allowed before taking pictures. |
| Alcohol | Say when arranging the visit if you do not drink; the drink detail comes from one reported game, not a general rule. |
| Arrival | Allow time beyond the 60-minute experience if you want to look around a venue; building tours are not included in the private plan’s 60 minutes. |
| Language | The official information does not confirm that English assistance is available, so ask when booking. |
| Children | The official information does not confirm whether children can attend, so check with the bureau or ryotei before making plans. |
No special manners are needed to visit a Niigata ryotei, according to the prefecture’s English guide. That guidance also says most Niigata ryotei accept first-time guests and that couples and women are welcome. For the private plan, however, practical details such as photos, children and language assistance should still be confirmed directly because the plan information does not specify them.
Common planning mistakes to avoid
Do not wait until the weekend to call the private-plan desk: it accepts calls on weekdays only, from 8:30 to 17:15. Do not plan a morning private performance, because the listed time window is 12:00–15:00. Also remember that the 60 minutes do not include a building tour, and that the Former Saito Family Villa has a separate entry fee.
Another easy misunderstanding is to assume that the private-plan base price, the meal price and the geigi fee are all one combined charge. They are not presented that way in the official information: the private venues have listed base prices and certain optional tea additions, whereas a ryotei meal has a separate flower fee for the geigi. Contact the relevant desk while your dates are still flexible, since the private plan may not be possible because of geigi or venue availability.
Prices: Private Plan Compared with a Ryotei Meal
The private plan is a fixed-duration arrangement at one of three listed venues, with base prices of ¥80,000 or ¥130,000, tax included, for the period April 1, 2026 to March 31, 2027. The official information gives a group size of 1–30 people, but it does not establish whether the base price is charged per group or per person. Confirm the price basis with the Niigata Convention & Visitors Bureau before calculating a per-person budget.
A ryotei booking works differently: you contact the restaurant to request geigi, and the meal price is separate from the flower fee. The official sources do not provide a standard flower-fee amount, meal price or meal duration. Ask the ryotei for an itemized explanation before agreeing to the booking.
| Point of comparison | Private plan | Meal at a ryotei |
|---|---|---|
| Setting | Enkikan, Former Saito Family Villa or Sangyo Kaikan | A ryotei you choose |
| Listed price | ¥80,000 or ¥130,000, tax included; venue-specific | Meal price plus a separate flower fee; ask the ryotei for amounts |
| Duration | 60 minutes; building tours are not included | Ask the ryotei |
| Time | Between 12:00 and 15:00 | Ask the ryotei |
| Group size | 1–30 people | Ask the ryotei |
| Food or refreshments | Matcha and a Japanese sweet can be added at two venues | Ask what the meal includes |
| Booking contact | Niigata Convention & Visitors Bureau, 025-223-8181, weekdays 8:30–17:15 | Call the ryotei, or contact the Niigata Sangyo Cooperative for help |
Private-plan venues and listed additions
The following prices apply to the plan period April 1, 2026–March 31, 2027, and the base prices include tax. The official listing does not clarify whether the base price covers the whole group, so ask before using the examples below to set a budget. For train and bus access information, consult the official plan page; it is the appropriate place to check venue access rather than relying on an assumed route.
| Venue | Base price, tax included | Listed addition or separate charge | Map search |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enkikan (燕喜館) | ¥130,000 | Matcha and a Japanese sweet: ¥600 per person | Search for Enkikan in Niigata |
| Former Saito Family Villa (旧齋藤家別邸) | ¥130,000 | Entry fee is separate; matcha and a sweet: ¥700 per person | Search for the Former Saito Family Villa |
| Sangyo Kaikan (三業会館) | ¥80,000 | No additional food option is listed | Search for Sangyo Kaikan in Niigata |
The map links open searches, so check that the result shows the intended venue. Ask the bureau about venue-specific closing days, since each venue’s own closure can make a date unavailable. For the Former Saito Family Villa, also confirm the separate entry fee; the official plan information cited here does not state its amount.
Illustrative calculations only
The calculations below assume, purely for illustration, that the venue’s base price is a single price for the whole group. The official information does not confirm that assumption, so these figures are not quotes. They also exclude charges not specified in the source information, including the Former Saito Family Villa entry fee.
| Illustrative scenario | Calculation under the group-price assumption | Illustrative total | Even split, if applicable |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sangyo Kaikan, 4 people, no listed additions | ¥80,000 | ¥80,000 | ¥20,000 each |
| Enkikan, 10 people, matcha and a sweet for each | ¥130,000 + (10 × ¥600) | ¥136,000 | ¥13,600 each |
| Former Saito Family Villa, 10 people, matcha and a sweet for each | ¥130,000 + (10 × ¥700), plus entry fees | ¥137,000 plus entry fees | ¥13,700 each plus each person’s share of entry fees |
Public events and join-in lunches
The official sources used here do not provide a dated, priced public show or join-in lunch that can be compared with the private plan or a ryotei meal. That means a visitor should not assume there is a public event available on a particular date or at a particular price. Check the official English guide and the official private-plan page for current information, and ask the relevant contact about any event you find.
How to Book the Private Plan
The private plan is arranged through the Niigata Convention & Visitors Bureau by telephone at 025-223-8181. The desk is open weekdays, 8:30–17:15; Sundays and holidays are excluded from the plan, and the desk’s weekday hours mean you should call on a weekday even if you are considering a Saturday. The plan runs from April 1, 2026 to March 31, 2027, and dates may also be unavailable because of geigi or venue circumstances.
| Dates or conditions listed as unavailable | What to check |
|---|---|
| Sundays and national holidays | Choose another date. |
| August 13–16 | These dates are excluded. |
| December 29–January 3 | These dates are excluded. |
| A venue’s own closing day | Ask the bureau whether your selected venue is open. |
| Other availability constraints | Ask early in your planning; the plan may not be possible because of geigi or venue circumstances. |
Saturdays are not listed among the plan’s excluded days, but the booking desk is not open on Saturdays. Do not treat that as confirmation that a particular Saturday is available; call the bureau on a weekday to check. The official plan page provides the plan’s current conditions and venue information.
Booking steps
- Choose possible dates. Start with dates within the plan period, April 1, 2026–March 31, 2027, and remove the listed excluded dates.
- Select a time window and venue. The plan is scheduled between 12:00 and 15:00, at Enkikan, the Former Saito Family Villa or Sangyo Kaikan.
- Make a question list. Include the price basis, possible start times, venue closing day, language support, children, photos and any separate charges.
- Call the bureau on a weekday. Use 025-223-8181 between 8:30 and 17:15.
- Record what is confirmed. Write down the date, time, venue, price basis and any additions or separate fees that the bureau confirms.
The experience itself lasts 60 minutes, and building-tour time is not included. The listed group range is 1–30 people, but ask whether the base price changes with group size or whether it is charged per group. Confirm all arrangements directly rather than assuming that a past event’s program, photographs or availability applies to your booking.
What is listed and what needs confirmation
| Listed in the official plan information | Ask the bureau |
|---|---|
| Base prices of ¥80,000 or ¥130,000, tax included, depending on venue | Is the base price for the whole group or per person? |
| A 60-minute experience; building tours are not included | Which start times are possible within 12:00–15:00? |
| Group size of 1–30 people | Can children attend? |
| Matcha and a sweet for ¥600 per person at Enkikan or ¥700 per person at the Former Saito Family Villa | Is English assistance available? |
| The Former Saito Family Villa entry fee is separate | What is the entry fee, and how is payment handled? |
| Dates can be unavailable because of geigi or venue circumstances | Are photos allowed, and what program is planned? |
Booking Geigi at a Ryotei
A ryotei is a traditional Japanese restaurant, and the meal route is separate from the bureau’s private plan. The prefecture’s English guide says most Niigata ryotei accept first-time guests and welcomes couples and women; it also says special etiquette knowledge is not necessary. You generally contact a ryotei, say you would like geigi at your meal, and explain your budget and what you hope to see or do.
Finding a ryotei and getting help
Use the official English guide and its linked information to check current ryotei details rather than relying on an old phone number or address. For help choosing a ryotei, contact the Niigata Sangyo Cooperative at 025-222-2237, 10:00–16:00; it is listed as closed on Sundays and holidays. Confirm the restaurant’s name, address and current contact details from the official information before arranging a meal.
What to say and ask
When you call a ryotei, say that you would like geigi to join your meal and share your budget and preferences. Ask what the meal price includes, how much the separate flower fee is, and how payment works. Also check the time, group size, closing days, availability of English assistance and whether children can attend; the official information does not specify those details for every restaurant.
| Confirmed by the official guide | Confirm directly with the ryotei |
|---|---|
| Most Niigata ryotei accept first-time guests. | Meal price and what is included. |
| Couples and women are welcome. | Flower-fee amount and payment method. |
| The flower fee is separate from the meal price. | Time, group size and availability on your date. |
| Visitors can share their budget and wishes when arranging geigi. | English support, children and restaurant closing days. |
A flower fee, or hanadai, is the payment for the geigi and is not the same as the restaurant bill. No standard amount is provided in the official information here, so do not estimate it from the private-plan prices. If you need help identifying a suitable ryotei, contact the cooperative during its listed hours, then confirm the actual booking and charges with the restaurant.
Geigi for Business Events
Geigi can also be arranged for business events such as a welcome party or a conference opening event. The Niigata Convention & Visitors Bureau’s official business-events information says fees are set in one-hour units and vary according to the venue. It does not give a single fixed amount, so request a quote for the location and event you are planning.
A geigi performance in a historic building can also be included in a tour before or after a conference, according to the business-events information. For a small private-group plan, call the bureau at 025-223-8181 on a weekday, 8:30–17:15. For geigi at a dinner, contact a ryotei or ask the Niigata Sangyo Cooperative at 025-222-2237; for a conference performance, consult the bureau’s business-events page and ask about the venue-specific fee.
Niigata Furumachi Geigi Experience FAQ
The main decision is whether you want a 60-minute private experience at one of the listed venues or a meal at a ryotei with a separately arranged geigi fee. The private plan has published venue prices and date conditions, while restaurant prices and arrangements need to be confirmed with the ryotei. The answers below distinguish what the official information states from what still needs a direct check.
Can one person book the private plan?
The private plan lists a minimum of one person and a maximum of 30 people. The official information gives venue base prices but does not clarify whether the price is for the whole group or for each person. Ask the bureau to confirm the price basis before booking, especially if you are travelling alone or with a small group.
How much does a private geigi experience cost?
For the plan period April 1, 2026–March 31, 2027, the listed base price is ¥80,000, tax included, at Sangyo Kaikan. It is ¥130,000, tax included, at Enkikan or the Former Saito Family Villa; the villa also has a separate entry fee. Matcha and a Japanese sweet are listed at ¥600 per person at Enkikan and ¥700 per person at the villa, and you should confirm the base-price basis and any additional charges with the bureau.
Is the ryotei meal included in the private-plan price?
No single combined price is given for a ryotei meal and geigi. At a ryotei, the meal price and the geigi flower fee are separate, and the available official information does not state the standard amount of either. Ask the restaurant for the meal details and flower fee before confirming.
Do guests have to drink alcohol during taruken?
The city tourism bureau’s account of one visit mentions a drink as part of the game. It does not say that every guest must drink or that every booking includes taruken. If you do not drink alcohol, tell the bureau or ryotei when you arrange the experience.
Can I book the private plan on a Saturday?
Saturday is not included in the listed excluded days, but that does not confirm that a specific Saturday is available. The booking desk takes calls only on weekdays, 8:30–17:15, so call during those hours to ask about your date. Sundays, national holidays, August 13–16, December 29–January 3 and a venue’s own closing days are listed as unavailable.
Is English assistance available, and can children attend?
The official sources cited here do not confirm whether English assistance is available for the private plan or at every ryotei. They also do not give a general rule about children attending. Ask the bureau or the individual ryotei directly before making arrangements.
How long should I allow for the private plan?
The private experience lasts 60 minutes and is scheduled between 12:00 and 15:00. Time spent touring the venue is not included in those 60 minutes. If a building visit matters to your plans, ask the venue or bureau whether it can be arranged separately and allow extra time.
How current is this information?
The private-plan prices and conditions apply to the stated plan period, April 1, 2026–March 31, 2027. The official English culture guide was updated on February 16, 2026, and the information in this guide was checked on November 3, 2026. Recheck the official plan page and contact the relevant booking desk before making arrangements, particularly before the plan period ends on March 31, 2027.




![Kyoto, Hanamachi Miyagawacho - Geisha District in Kyoto [4K] POV](https://i.ytimg.com/vi/2tGT1XobPgg/mqdefault.jpg)






