Geisha Experience Kochi: Dance, Games and Booking

All Japan Experiences 13 min read Last checked: 2026-11-03
Contents

A geisha experience in Kochi is available at Hamacho, a traditional restaurant at 6-6 Tojinmachi in Kochi City. Hamacho’s food-and-entertainment offering is described in English by the official tourism listing, while a separate Kimono + Ozashiki plan combines kimono dressing with a visit to the restaurant. These are different options: the combined plan has a published price and group conditions, but its host may be a geisha or a Tosa ozashiki guide rather than a geisha specifically. Visit Kochi Japan: Hamacho

The Kimono + Ozashiki plan is listed at ¥23,000 per person, including tax, for groups of four to 10. It excludes Mondays, lasts three and a half hours, and requires applications through Miyaji Kanko Service by 3pm four days before the chosen date. The plan does not allow requests for a named participant, and the kimono experience is not a geisha makeover. Kimono + Ozashiki plan

What happens at a geisha experience in Kochi?

At Hamacho, an ozashiki experience means a meal accompanied by traditional entertainment. Hamacho’s official experience page introduces Tosa geiko dance; “geiko” is another word for geisha. The restaurant describes its experience courses as combining food, dance and ozashiki entertainment, but the contents depend on the course you choose. Hamacho’s official experience page

Kimono dressing→Short walk→Meal and games→Change clothes
The kimono plan combines dressing, a walk and time at Hamacho.
See the game→Watch the host→Join in
A little help from the host makes a new game easier to enjoy.
Kiko
Kiko

The Kimono + Ozashiki plan is a separate, scheduled outing. It includes dressing in a kimono, walking to Hamacho and taking part in an ozashiki there, with the listed host being either a geisha or a Tosa ozashiki guide. The plan listing does not guarantee a geisha, so travelers who consider the identity of the host essential should ask the organizer before applying.

An ozashiki is a gathering with food and entertainment, not simply a stage performance. Hamacho’s experience page describes Tosa geiko dance and banquet entertainment, while the kimono plan names bekuhai and hashiken as examples of party games. The plan listing does not explain the games in detail; if you are unsure how to take part, ask your host for guidance during the event.

What the kimono plan includes—and does not promise

The listed schedule begins with kimono dressing at 10:30am, followed by a walk to Hamacho and an ozashiki visit. The plan lists a 240-metre walk, arrival at 11:30am, departure from Hamacho at 1:30pm, changing clothes at 1:35pm and a 2pm finish. That 240-metre figure describes the walk included in the plan; it is not a distance from a railway station or your hotel.

Wearing a kimono is not the same as dressing up as a geisha. The plan explicitly says that the participant’s kimono experience is not a geisha transformation, and the listing does not promise geisha-style makeup or a makeover. If you are looking only to rent a kimono, aiiro offers a separate rental option, but it is not the same product as the meal-and-entertainment plan.

Food, drink and the character of the event

Hamacho’s official experience page introduces sawachi cuisine, a Kochi-style presentation of food, and lists an all-you-can-drink selection that includes beer, sake and soft drinks. Hamacho also says it gives consideration to guests who do not drink alcohol. Ask the restaurant which dishes and drinks are included in the particular course you are considering, because the general description does not establish the exact menu for every plan. Hamacho course information

The restaurant’s official page says its experience courses were renewed in January 2025. That is useful context when looking at older photos or comments: a past event or previous course description may not match a current offering. Check the official page or ask Hamacho about the current course details before you make plans.

Kochi geisha experience plans and prices compared

There are three different choices to distinguish: Hamacho’s own food-and-entertainment courses, the combined Kimono + Ozashiki plan, and aiiro’s standalone kimono rental. They are not directly interchangeable because they include different services and have different booking conditions. The published prices below are the listings checked on November 3, 2026; they are not a confirmed quote for a particular date.

Meal and entertainment→Kimono and meal→Kimono rental
Choose a course based on your group and what you want to do.
Choice What is listed Published price and conditions
Hamacho’s own courses Food and entertainment; contents depend on the course Check Hamacho’s experience page for current prices and terms
Kimono + Ozashiki plan Kimono dressing, a walk to Hamacho and an ozashiki ¥23,000 per person, including tax; four to 10 people
Interpreter guide for the Kimono + Ozashiki plan Language assistance as an extra ¥15,000 extra; ask the organizer how the fee is charged
aiiro kimono rental Separate kimono rental with dressing assistance ¥8,000; reserve two days ahead

Hamacho’s course prices, duration and group rules should be checked on its own page because the available details may depend on the course. The Kimono + Ozashiki plan has a separate published price and a stated group range. Aiiro’s ¥8,000 rental is a standalone kimono option, not a meal-and-entertainment package. aiiro kimono rental information

For four guests, the Kimono + Ozashiki plan’s listed price works out to ¥92,000 including tax before any optional interpreter charge. The interpreter is listed as an additional ¥15,000, but the listing does not clarify how that fee is charged; ask Miyaji Kanko Service for the total applicable to your group. Do not treat the rental price or the plan price as a confirmed total for your chosen date until the relevant provider replies.

Which choice fits your group?

If you have one, two or three people, the Kimono + Ozashiki plan does not meet its stated minimum of four. You can ask Hamacho about its own courses, including current prices and group rules, but the available information does not confirm that it can accommodate a smaller party on your preferred date. If you are interested only in wearing a kimono, check aiiro’s separate rental terms instead.

For a group of four to 10 that wants both kimono dressing and an ozashiki visit, the combined plan is the option with the clearest published schedule and price. Its listing gives the host as a geisha or a Tosa ozashiki guide, so confirm what matters to your group rather than assuming a geisha will take part. The plan does not accept requests for a named participant.

If you want food and entertainment without the kimono portion, look at Hamacho’s own courses. The official page describes the restaurant’s food and entertainment, but the course price and exact inclusions need to be checked there. If language assistance is important for the combined plan, ask its organizer about the listed interpreter option and how the additional fee is applied.

How to book a geisha experience in Kochi

Apply for the Kimono + Ozashiki plan through Miyaji Kanko Service using the contact details on the plan page. The published deadline is 3pm, four days before your chosen date, and the plan excludes Mondays. The stated group size is four to 10 people, so check that your party meets the minimum before you apply.

Group and date→Apply to organiser→Confirm meeting place
Apply for the kimono plan before its stated deadline.
10:30 dressing→Meal and games→14:00 finish
The listed plan lasts three and a half hours.
Host and group size→Food and language→Payment and photos
Ask about the details that matter to your group.

Choose a date that is not a Monday, then work back from the deadline to make sure your application is sent in time. The plan lists a 10:30am start and a 2pm finish, so allow for the full three-and-a-half-hour schedule when arranging the rest of your day. The published listing does not establish availability on any particular date; wait for the organizer’s reply before treating your place as confirmed.

In your message, state your group size and preferred date, and ask about the practical details that matter to you. This is the point to ask who is expected to host, how the interpreter fee is charged, what payment methods are accepted, and whether food requirements or children can be accommodated. The listing does not provide confirmed answers to those questions, so do not assume that a request can be met until the organizer responds.

Listed schedule for the Kimono + Ozashiki plan

Time Listed activity
10:30am Kimono dressing
11:25am Begin the 240m walk
11:30am Arrive at Hamacho
1:30pm Leave Hamacho
1:35pm Change clothes
2pm Finish

The schedule shows a five-minute walk from the dressing location to Hamacho, but the listing’s 240m distance is for that specific part of the plan. It does not tell you how far the meeting point is from your accommodation or a station. Confirm the meeting location in the organizer’s reply and use a map app to plan your route there.

The listing gives an interpreter guide as a ¥15,000 extra, but does not explain whether this charge is per person or per group. Ask for the total price for your party, including any interpreter charge, before deciding. The listing also does not specify payment methods, so confirm how payment is handled rather than assuming that a particular method is accepted.

Getting to Hamacho: address, maps and hours

Hamacho is at 6-6 Tojinmachi, Kochi City. The official tourism listing gives the restaurant’s phone number as 088-884-0080 and lists parking for 12 cars. Its lunch hours are shown as 11:30am to 2pm, and the venue’s official information lists evening hours from 5pm to 11pm. These are restaurant hours, not a promise that every experience or course is available throughout those times. Hamacho tourism listing and Hamacho official information

Venue: Hamacho→Meeting: plan address→Rental: separate address
The plan and the separate rental list different addresses.

The kimono plan and the separate aiiro rental list different addresses, so check which one applies to your booking. The plan’s meeting point is listed at 1-16-5 Minami-Harimayamachi, while aiiro’s standalone rental is listed at 1-16-9 Minami-Harimayamachi. Do not navigate to Hamacho first if your confirmed plan tells you to meet elsewhere.

Place Listed address Map
Hamacho 6-6 Tojinmachi, Kochi City Open map
Kimono plan meeting place 1-16-5 Minami-Harimayamachi, Kochi City Open map
Separate aiiro rental 1-16-9 Minami-Harimayamachi, Kochi City Open map

Use the meeting address supplied in the organizer’s reply, particularly if you are booking the combined plan. Aiiro’s separate rental address differs from the plan’s meeting location, and Hamacho itself has a third address. A map app can help you route from your hotel or station, but the available listings do not establish a travel time or route from any particular starting point.

Monday closures and a listing discrepancy

Hamacho’s official information lists Monday as its closing day, and the Kimono + Ozashiki plan also excludes Mondays. However, the English tourism listing describes Hamacho as operating year-round, which does not match the Monday closure information. Because the sources differ, check directly with Hamacho or the plan organizer about your date rather than relying on the general year-round label.

The restaurant’s listed lunch hours are 11:30am to 2pm, with evening hours from 5pm to 11pm on its official information page. The combined plan uses the lunch period, arriving at 11:30am and leaving at 1:30pm. Neither the restaurant’s general hours nor the tourism listing confirms that a particular course is available at the time you want.

What travelers share about the Kochi geisha experience

Photos and reviews can help you understand the atmosphere, food and entertainment, but they are impressions of particular visits. A photograph may show a different course or an event that is no longer offered, so look for its date and any course name before using it to plan. Hamacho says its experience courses were renewed in January 2025, making older material especially worth checking against current information. Hamacho’s current experience information

Course→Date→Visitor photos
Match photos and reviews to the course and date before booking.

Treat individual ratings and comments as opinions rather than a promise about your own visit. A review cannot confirm who will host your group, what dishes will be served or whether a date is available. Ask Hamacho or the plan organizer about those specific details before booking.

Old events may not be repeated, even if photos or reports remain online. Look for a current date and course description when you see a special-event notice, and confirm directly if it affects your decision. The available information does not establish that any particular past event is scheduled again.

For the Kimono + Ozashiki plan, ask the organizer about dates rather than assuming that a listing means a place is available. The page gives the application deadline and excludes Mondays, but it does not confirm a booking for your party. If you are looking for another meal nearby, use a map app to search around Hamacho and check each restaurant’s current hours and menu before setting out.

Before you book: practical checklist

The most important distinction is whether you want a combined kimono-and-ozashiki outing, a Hamacho course, or a separate kimono rental. The plan’s published details are unusually specific about its schedule, group size and price, but they do not answer every question a traveler may have. Use the checklist below to identify what is stated and what you should confirm.

Question What the available information says
Will a geisha take part in the Kimono + Ozashiki plan? The host is listed as a geisha or a Tosa ozashiki guide; a geisha is not guaranteed.
Can I request a named participant? No. The plan does not allow requests for a named participant.
Can I book the Kimono + Ozashiki plan alone? The listed minimum is four people; the maximum is 10.
Is the kimono part a geisha makeover? No. The plan says the participant’s kimono experience is not a geisha transformation.
Must I drink alcohol? Hamacho lists soft drinks and says it considers guests who do not drink alcohol.
Is the interpreter included in the plan price? No. An interpreter guide is listed as an extra ¥15,000; ask how the fee is charged.
Are children or special food requirements confirmed? The available listing does not give enough detail; ask the organizer before applying.
Are access needs covered? The available listings do not provide enough detail to promise that every part of the visit suits every guest.

If you have access needs, food requirements or questions about bringing children, include them in your first message to the organizer. The sources do not confirm which requests can be accommodated, so seek an answer before making plans around an assumption. Also ask about payment methods, the host and the meeting point; those details are not all settled by the general listing.

If you do not drink alcohol, Hamacho lists soft drinks as part of its all-you-can-drink selection and says it considers guests who do not drink. That is useful information, but it does not specify the exact drinks or food included in every course. Confirm the menu and inclusions for your selected course directly with Hamacho.

Geisha experience Kochi FAQ

Price and host→Solo booking and Mondays→Drinks
The kimono plan and Hamacho’s own courses have separate terms.

How much does the Kimono + Ozashiki plan cost?

The listed price is ¥23,000 per person, including tax, for four to 10 people. A group of four would therefore have a listed base total of ¥92,000 before any optional interpreter charge. The interpreter guide is listed as an additional ¥15,000, but ask Miyaji Kanko Service how that fee is charged and what total applies to your group. Plan price and conditions

Is a geisha guaranteed?

No. The Kimono + Ozashiki plan lists either a geisha or a Tosa ozashiki guide as the host. It also says that requests for a named participant are not accepted. If having a geisha take part is essential to your decision, ask the organizer about the expected host before applying, while understanding that the listing does not promise a particular person.

Can a solo traveler book the Kimono + Ozashiki plan?

The plan lists a minimum of four participants and a maximum of 10, so a solo traveler does not meet its stated group requirement alone. You can ask Hamacho about its own courses, but their current group rules, availability and prices need to be confirmed with the restaurant. Aiiro’s separate kimono rental is another option if you want kimono rather than the combined meal-and-entertainment plan.

What days does the experience run?

The Kimono + Ozashiki plan excludes Mondays, and Hamacho’s official information also lists Monday as its closing day. The English tourism listing differs by showing year-round operation, so there is a source discrepancy. Confirm your date with the organizer or venue, and do not treat the general tourism listing as confirmation that a Monday booking is possible.

Does the plan include kimono dressing or a geisha makeover?

The combined plan includes kimono dressing before the walk to Hamacho. It is not a geisha makeover or a geisha transformation, according to the plan listing. For kimono rental without the ozashiki plan, aiiro lists a separate ¥8,000 rental with dressing assistance and says to reserve two days ahead. aiiro rental listing

Is there an option for guests who do not drink alcohol?

Hamacho lists beer, sake and soft drinks in its all-you-can-drink selection and says it gives consideration to guests who do not drink alcohol. Ask what is included in the course you select, since the general description does not set out the exact drinks or menu for every booking. If you have food requirements, raise those with the venue or organizer before confirming.

How do I apply, and how far ahead should I do it?

Apply for the Kimono + Ozashiki plan through Miyaji Kanko Service by 3pm, four days before your chosen date. The plan is for four to 10 people, excludes Mondays and lists a 10:30am start with a 2pm finish. Contact details and the full listing are on the official plan page; wait for a reply before treating a date or place as confirmed.

At a glance
Where
Hamacho, 6-6 Tojinmachi, Kochi City.
Kimono plan price
¥23,000
¥23,000 per person, including tax; four to 10 people.
Hamacho courses
See the official experience page for current prices and terms.
Time
10:30am
10:30am–2pm for the kimono plan.
Getting there
The plan includes a 240m walk to Hamacho.
Booking
Apply through Miyaji Kanko Service by 3pm, four days before.
Days
The kimono plan excludes Mondays.
Host
A geisha or a Tosa ozashiki guide.

Travel inspiration in photos

An uncut full recording of the Aho-ren troupe performing at the Naruto City Awa Odori festival's East performance area on August 10, 2026.YouTubeAn uncut full recording of the Aho-ren troupe performing at the Naruto City Awa Odori festival's East performance area on August 10, 2026.69,239 viewsYouTube ↗
Japan Ski Vlog | Niseko & Hakuba | 4KYouTubeJapan Ski Vlog | Niseko & Hakuba | 4K29,416 viewsYouTube ↗
Hakuba, Nagano | TSUGAIKE ★★★ Ultimate Ski Trip at Hakuba's Powder Paradise ★★★ 長野県白馬栂池スキー場YouTubeHakuba, Nagano | TSUGAIKE ★★★ Ultimate Ski Trip at Hakuba's Powder Paradise ★★★ 長野県白馬栂池スキー場19,457 viewsYouTube ↗
This Should Be On Your Next Kyoto Trip! Walking Tour at Gion Kyoto - The Geisha District of JapanYouTubeThis Should Be On Your Next Kyoto Trip! Walking Tour at Gion Kyoto - The Geisha District of Japan10,667 viewsYouTube ↗
Kyoto, Hanamachi Miyagawacho - Geisha District in Kyoto [4K] POVYouTubeKyoto, Hanamachi Miyagawacho - Geisha District in Kyoto [4K] POV5,192 viewsYouTube ↗
A campervan couple hops between famous Sanuki udon shops Watanabe, Susaki Shokuten and Nakamura, then soaks at Kotohiki Kairo onsen.YouTubeA campervan couple hops between famous Sanuki udon shops Watanabe, Susaki Shokuten and Nakamura, then soaks at Kotohiki Kairo onsen.3,769 viewsYouTube ↗
City Walk in Geisha Street Kyoto Japan/Kamishichiken StreetYouTubeCity Walk in Geisha Street Kyoto Japan/Kamishichiken Street1,099 viewsYouTube ↗
JANNI HELI SKIING FOR THE FIRST TIME! | VLOG 305YouTubeJANNI HELI SKIING FOR THE FIRST TIME! | VLOG 305628,541 viewsYouTube ↗
The famous maiko completely conquers foreign tourists!  Gion, Kyoto, Japan.YouTubeThe famous maiko completely conquers foreign tourists! Gion, Kyoto, Japan.317,207 viewsYouTube ↗
A slow-travel vlog stays in Yunishigawa Onsen, a rural hot-spring town near Nikko, visiting Heike no Sato, a duck tour and Toshogu Shrine.YouTubeA slow-travel vlog stays in Yunishigawa Onsen, a rural hot-spring town near Nikko, visiting Heike no Sato, a duck tour and Toshogu Shrine.166,204 viewsYouTube ↗
utah HELI SKIING with POWDERBIRD!! || vanlife utahYouTubeutah HELI SKIING with POWDERBIRD!! || vanlife utah117,032 viewsYouTube ↗
KIRORO HOKKAIDO Ski Resort - The Best Powder In JapanYouTubeKIRORO HOKKAIDO Ski Resort - The Best Powder In Japan70,420 viewsYouTube ↗

Find answers in the guides

Browse all guides · Share your Japan post

Reader travel posts