
Geisha Experience Awara: Ozashiki and Booking
Contents
Awara’s ozashiki is a 60-minute traditional entertainment experience hosted by Awara geigi, or professional traditional performers. The listed program includes singing and dancing, a chance to try a Japanese drum and two traditional games, and a commemorative photo with the geigi. Book the ozashiki by phone at least three days ahead; it is a separate plan from Awara’s longer maiko or geigi makeover experience. See the Awara Tourism Association’s experience details before deciding which one to ask about.
This guide explains what the ozashiki includes, how its group pricing works, how to reach the venue, and what is—and is not—confirmed about language support and availability. The published experience information was updated on April 17, 2026, and was checked on November 3, 2026. No availability inquiry, reservation or payment was made, so the published details should not be taken as confirmation that a particular date or time is available.
What happens at the Awara ozashiki?
The Awara Tourism Association describes the ozashiki as an experience hosted by Awara geigi. Visitors can watch singing and dancing and then take part in activities with the performers. The program is listed as ending with a photo with the geigi, making this a participatory cultural experience rather than only a performance to observe. The association’s ozashiki listing is the source for the local program details.

The listed activities include trying a taiko, a Japanese drum, and playing tora tora and konpira funefune, two traditional ozashiki games. The association’s listing names these games but does not explain their rules, so do not assume that you will know how to play before arriving. If you would like the rules explained in advance, ask the association when you call; the published information does not specify what language explanations are given in.
The experience lasts 60 minutes. The association recommends it for people aged 18 and over, while also explicitly saying that children can participate. If you are arranging a family visit, tell the association the ages and number of people in your party so it can confirm the arrangements for your group.
Fukui’s English-language tourism information also introduces visitors to meeting geigi for tea and games in Awara. That description offers wider context about the local culture, but the city tourism association’s listing is the more direct reference for the specific ozashiki activities, price and booking contact covered here. Read the Fukui tourism introduction alongside the Awara listing if you want both the general introduction and the local plan details.
Prices, group size and available times
The listed ozashiki price is ¥23,100 for six people. From the seventh person, the association adds ¥3,850 per person, and the maximum group size is 15. The experience normally runs for groups of six or more, but a smaller group can participate by paying the six-person price. These figures come from the Awara Tourism Association’s experience information; confirm the total for your party when arranging a date.
| Ozashiki group size | Listed price |
|---|---|
| Fewer than six people | ¥23,100, the six-person price |
| Six people | ¥23,100 |
| Seven or more | ¥23,100 for six, plus ¥3,850 per person from the seventh |
| Maximum group size | 15 |
The six-person price applies to a party smaller than six; it is not a per-person rate. For example, one person asking to participate should budget for the listed six-person amount, not one-sixth of it, while still checking directly whether a booking is possible for the requested date. For groups above six, calculate the listed additional charge for each person after the first six, then ask the association to confirm the total.
The association’s experience list gives a time window of 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. and also lists the ozashiki as a one-hour experience. That window is not a confirmation that every start time or date is available, and it does not identify an open booking slot for a specific party. Ask which start time can be arranged when you call. Check the experience list for the published time window and duration.
Treat the listed prices and times as published information to confirm, not as a live booking calendar. The local experience page was updated on April 17, 2026, but a page update does not establish that a date is still open or that a reservation has been accepted. No reservation, availability inquiry or payment was made for this guide.
How to book and find the venue
The ozashiki requires a phone reservation at least three days before the experience. Contact the Awara Tourism Association at 0776-78-6767; its published inquiry hours are weekdays from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Because the booking is by phone, make the call during those hours and allow time to confirm the details rather than relying on the published experience page as proof of availability. The booking requirement and contact details are listed by the Awara Tourism Association.
Before calling, decide which plan you want and count everyone who will take part, including children. The ozashiki normally starts at six people, accepts smaller groups at the six-person price, and has a maximum group size of 15. Have your preferred date in mind, but be prepared to ask about an alternative because the public time window does not show which dates or start times are open.
During the call, ask the association to confirm the available date and start time, the total price for your party, and payment arrangements. The supplied information does not state the payment method or when payment is due, so do not assume either detail. If you need language assistance, ask whether it can be arranged and what conditions apply; English interpretation is not confirmed as part of the ozashiki.
The venue is the Traditional Performing Arts Hall in Yunomachi Square, at 1-203 Onsen, Awara City, Fukui Prefecture. It is listed as a two-minute walk from Awara-Yunomachi Station. On arrival, use the venue name and street address to identify the destination; the published access detail gives the station walk but does not provide turn-by-turn directions. Confirm the venue and booking details on the local listing.
When you call, say clearly whether you are asking for the ozashiki or the makeover plan. They are separate experiences with different durations and prices, and the ozashiki’s three-day advance-booking requirement should not automatically be applied to the makeover. Ask for the makeover’s current booking conditions directly. The English-language JAPAN47GO makeover page also lists tourism association contact details, while the local association page remains the reference for the ozashiki.
There is also a way to pair a walk with an ozashiki option: a Fukui Prefectural Tourism Association guide map lists an ozashiki experience after the Three Yakushi walking course. The map says that this option requires advance booking. Its arrangement and price should be checked separately rather than assumed to match the standalone ozashiki described above. See the guide map for the walking-course option.
Language support and English information
The English-language tourism sources can help with background reading, but they do not establish that the phone booking service operates in English or that an interpreter will be provided during the ozashiki. The Fukui tourism site describes the opportunity to meet geigi for tea and games, while the local association provides the specific booking information. Neither fact by itself confirms language arrangements for an individual reservation. Read the English-language Fukui introduction and confirm support directly with the association.
For the makeover plan, English-language descriptions are available from Shoryudo and JAPAN47GO. Shoryudo describes dressing by a currently active geigi, and both sites introduce the transformation experience. These English pages are useful for understanding the separate makeover plan, but they do not confirm that an interpreter is available for the ozashiki or provide a confirmed English-language booking arrangement.
When you contact the association, ask specifically whether language assistance can be arranged, whether it applies to the booking call or the experience itself, and what conditions apply. Do not treat English-language web information as evidence that interpretation is included. If language support is important to your visit, make that question part of the booking conversation before you commit.
Ozashiki or makeover: which should you choose?
Choose the ozashiki if you want to watch local performers and join the listed games and activities. Choose the makeover if you want to dress in a maiko or geigi style. The association describes them as separate plans, so ask for the name of the experience you intend to book rather than assuming that a makeover is part of the performance gathering. The Awara experience page lists both plans.
| Detail | Ozashiki experience | Maiko or geigi makeover |
|---|---|---|
| Main activity | Singing, dancing, taiko and games | Transformation into a maiko or geigi style |
| Listed duration | 60 minutes | 2 hours 30 minutes |
| Listed price | ¥23,100 for six people; ¥3,850 per person from the seventh | ¥16,500 per person |
| Group information | Normally six to 15; fewer than six can participate at the six-person price | Available from one person |
| Photo information | A photo with the geigi at the end | Professional photography option listed at ¥11,000 |
The makeover listing gives three places for the maiko style and three for the geigi style. It says visitors can choose a kimono pattern and that men are welcome. A professional photography option is listed at ¥11,000, but the supplied details do not specify exactly what that option includes, so ask the association before adding it to your plans.
The makeover takes two hours and 30 minutes, compared with the ozashiki’s 60 minutes, and its listed price is per person rather than a six-person group price. It can be arranged from one person, whereas the ozashiki normally runs for six or more and charges smaller parties the six-person amount. These are useful distinctions when comparing the plans, but they do not establish current availability or the makeover’s booking process.
An Experience Fukui video shows a maiko makeover in Awara, so it can help you understand the separate transformation topic. It should not be used to check ozashiki conditions, which are listed by the Awara Tourism Association. Videos of geisha or maiko experiences in Kyoto or Tokyo show activities in different cities and are not sources for Awara’s prices, venue or booking rules.
Mistakes first-time visitors can avoid
A common planning error is treating the ozashiki and makeover as one combined booking. If you want the singing, dancing, drum and games, ask for the ozashiki; if you want to dress in a maiko or geigi style, ask for the makeover. The association lists separate prices and durations, so name the plan when you call.
Do not leave the ozashiki call until the last minute. A reservation is required at least three days in advance, and the listed 9:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m. window does not guarantee that your preferred start time is available. Call during the published weekday inquiry hours and ask the association to confirm a date and time for your group.
Do not divide ¥23,100 by six when estimating the cost of a smaller party. The listing says that fewer than six people can participate by paying the six-person price, so a smaller group should plan for that amount unless the association confirms otherwise. For groups larger than six, remember that the listed additional charge begins with the seventh person.
Finally, do not assume that an English interpreter, a particular payment method or a specific start time is included. The published information does not confirm those details, and the English-language descriptions are not a substitute for checking the arrangement directly. Ask about the details that matter to your party before considering the booking confirmed.
FAQ
Can children join the ozashiki?
Yes. The association recommends the experience for people aged 18 and over, but it also says children can participate. If children are in your group, tell the association their ages and ask about your group’s arrangements when you call.
Can one person book the ozashiki?
The listing says that groups below six can participate by paying the six-person price of ¥23,100. It does not guarantee that a solo visitor will be accepted on a particular date, so ask the association whether it can arrange your requested date. Do not estimate a solo price by dividing the group price by six.
Is the makeover included in the ozashiki?
No. The maiko or geigi makeover is a separate plan with its own listed duration and price. The makeover is listed as 2 hours 30 minutes and ¥16,500 per person, while the ozashiki is a 60-minute group experience. Ask which plan you are booking and confirm its conditions directly.
How far ahead should I reserve the ozashiki?
The listed ozashiki requires a phone reservation at least three days in advance. The Three Yakushi walking-course option also requires advance booking, but its arrangement should be checked separately. Call the Awara Tourism Association at 0776-78-6767 on a weekday between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. to ask about availability.
Is English interpretation provided?
The supplied booking information does not confirm that the phone service is in English or that interpretation is included. Ask the association whether language support can be arranged and what conditions apply before making plans. English descriptions of the makeover are available from Shoryudo and JAPAN47GO, but these do not confirm ozashiki interpretation.
Does the ozashiki price include a meal?
The supplied ozashiki booking details do not say whether a meal is included. Ask the association what is included in the listed price before paying or finalizing your plans. Do not assume that food or other services are part of the experience.




![Kyoto, Hanamachi Miyagawacho - Geisha District in Kyoto [4K] POV](https://i.ytimg.com/vi/2tGT1XobPgg/mqdefault.jpg)






