Marugame Castle: Tickets, Hours and Walking Guide
Contents
Marugame Castle is in Kagawa Prefecture, within Kameyama Park, and is introduced by the local tourism association as one of Japan’s twelve surviving original castle keeps. The keep and Ote Ichinomon gate are both designated important cultural properties, but they have different visitor arrangements: the keep requires a ticket, while viewing the gate interior is free. The city’s information checked on November 4, 2026, lists the grounds as open 24 hours, but the keep has separate opening hours and a last admission time.
For planning, the key distinction is between reaching the castle grounds and reaching the keep. The city estimates about 15 minutes on foot from Marugame Station’s south exit to the castle, followed by about 20 minutes one way from Otemon gate to the keep. Those are approximate walking estimates; allow extra time for your own pace, stops and the climb, and arrive at the keep before its 16:00 last admission.
Tickets and opening hours
The keep normally opens from 9:00 to 16:30, with last admission at 16:00. The city lists no regular closing day, but it may close temporarily for warnings, inspections, construction or events. Check the city’s current admission and opening information before setting out, especially if your schedule depends on visiting the keep.
| Visit or ticket | Price and conditions |
|---|---|
| Castle keep | Adults: ¥400; junior-high students and younger: free |
| Group admission | Groups of 20 or more receive a 20% discount |
| Eligible visitors | Marugame City residents aged 65 or over, and people with disabilities and their carers, can qualify for free admission with identification |
| Ote Ichinomon gate interior | Free; confirm current access with the city |
| Keep and Nakazu Banshoen combined ticket | ¥900; cash only; valid for one year from purchase |
The ordinary keep ticket can be paid for in cash or by cashless payment. The combined ticket is different: the city says it is sold for cash only, so bring cash if you plan to buy it. The combined ticket remains valid for one year from purchase, which gives you more flexibility than planning both visits for the same day, but it does not guarantee that either facility will be open when you arrive.
Check the two facilities’ calendars separately before choosing the combined ticket. The city’s information says Nakazu Banshoen normally closes on Wednesdays, except when Wednesday is a holiday. A combined ticket is not evidence that both attractions open every day, and it does not override a closure or temporary change.
For the group discount, the stated threshold is 20 visitors and the discount is 20%; ask at the ticket office about the conditions that apply to your party. The city also lists free admission for Marugame City residents aged 65 or over and for people with disabilities and their carers, with identification required. Do not assume that an individual exemption applies automatically to every member of a group; check the eligibility and proof requirements with the city in advance.
The city’s ticket page is the relevant source for current fees, payment methods and special admission conditions. The separate city FAQ explains that the grounds are listed as open 24 hours. That grounds listing does not extend the keep’s hours: if you want to enter the keep, plan around the 16:00 last admission rather than the all-day grounds access.
Getting to Marugame Castle
Marugame Castle is at Ichibancho, Marugame, Kagawa. From Marugame Station, leave by the south exit; the city estimates that the walk to the castle takes about 15 minutes. The station-to-castle estimate is not a complete estimate for reaching the keep, so do not treat it as the time needed to get from the station to the top.
From Otemon gate, allow approximately 20 minutes one way to reach the keep, according to the city’s FAQ. Read the station-to-castle and gate-to-keep times as separate parts of your approach. Together they suggest roughly 35 minutes of walking between the station and the keep before adding time for your pace, pauses or any route changes; the estimate is not a promise of a fixed journey time.
A practical plan is to start by deciding when you need to enter the keep, then work backwards. Keep the 16:00 last admission in mind, allow about 20 minutes from Otemon gate to the keep, and add your own margin for the station walk and stops. If you arrive at the grounds after the keep has stopped admitting visitors, the grounds’ 24-hour access does not mean that you can still enter the keep.
Drivers should distinguish the castle’s grounds, the keep and the car park when checking hours. The city lists a free car park south of the museum with space for about 50 vehicles, normally available from 6:00 to 19:00. Events may change the parking hours, and the published capacity does not establish whether a space will be available on your day. See the city’s access information for the parking details.
The free car park’s listed hours do not follow automatically from the grounds’ 24-hour listing. If you plan to stay late, check the parking arrangements rather than assuming that the car park remains open all night. The city also identifies free parking for approximately five large buses at the north moat, as well as the paid Otemachi First car park nearby.
The city notes a two-hour-free arrangement for specified municipal car parks when visitors use the validation machine inside the castle grounds. This is a particular arrangement for eligible municipal car parks, not a general statement that all nearby parking is free. Confirm that the car park you choose is included and follow the stated validation procedure; for a different car park, check that facility’s own terms.
What to see and how to plan your visit
Marugame Castle is presented by the local tourism association as one of Japan’s twelve surviving original castle keeps. The keep and Ote Ichinomon are identified as important cultural properties, so they offer two distinct parts of the visit: the paid interior of the keep and the free interior viewing at the gate, subject to current access. The Marugame tourism association’s English castle page provides an introduction to the site and its features.
JNTO describes the castle as being in Kameyama Park and notes views toward the Seto Inland Sea. The park setting and the keep visit are not interchangeable: being on the grounds does not mean the keep is open, and the keep’s entry conditions remain in effect even when the grounds are accessible. If your priority is the view from the keep, make that the timed part of your plan and check the last admission before travelling.
The gate interior is free to view, while the keep requires a ticket. The local tourism association also mentions a time-drum experience at Ote Ichinomon. The available information does not establish the experience’s current schedule, price or reservation arrangements, so contact the city or tourism association if this activity is important to your visit rather than planning around an assumed time.
Visitors collecting Japan’s 100 Famous Castles stamps can find them inside the keep and at the museum, according to the city FAQ. Because these are two separate locations, check access to each one if collecting both stamps is a priority. The available information does not specify the museum’s opening calendar here, so confirm its current arrangements with the city before relying on it as an alternative.
Construction, events or other temporary restrictions can affect access, and the city says that temporary keep closures are possible for warnings, inspections, construction or events. The current extent of any stone-wall repair or route restriction is not established by the published details cited here. Check the city’s notices close to your visit if a specific route or part of the grounds matters to you, and allow time to follow any on-site instructions.
Facilities and access needs
The city lists seven toilets in the castle grounds. Lockers are east of the tourist information office, with a listed price of ¥300 for a small locker and ¥500 for a large one. The office’s listed hours are 9:00–16:30, so if you need to ask for assistance or use a locker, take those hours into account rather than assuming the service follows the grounds’ 24-hour access.
The tourist information office has one wheelchair available for free loan. The city’s information does not establish that every part of the route, or the keep itself, can be reached without steps. It also does not specify the complete route’s gradients, the assistance that may be needed or the keep’s staircase arrangements. If you have particular mobility requirements, ask the city about the route and access conditions for your visit instead of treating the wheelchair loan as confirmation of step-free access.
There is only one wheelchair listed at the castle information office, so contact the office about availability if you hope to use it on a particular day. The museum’s wheelchair loan is restricted to use inside the museum; it should not be counted as a second wheelchair for the castle grounds. This distinction matters when arranging support for a party in which more than one visitor may need a mobility aid.
The city says the grounds are entirely non-smoking. For luggage, compare your belongings with the two listed locker sizes and prices, and remember that the published information does not guarantee that a locker will be available when you arrive. The city also lists a volunteer guide service, but the available details do not establish how to book a guide or whether one will be available on a particular date; ask the city before making a guided visit a fixed part of your schedule.
For the latest practical details, consult the city FAQ and the city access page. The tourism association’s English introduction is another useful reference for the cultural-property designations and the time-drum feature. If an access detail is essential to your visit, confirm it directly rather than relying on a general description of the site.
Frequently asked questions
Can I visit the grounds outside the keep’s opening hours?
The city lists the grounds as open 24 hours, while the keep normally opens from 9:00 to 16:30 and stops admitting visitors at 16:00. These are separate conditions, so being able to enter the grounds does not mean you can enter the keep after last admission. Temporary closures may also affect the keep, so check the city’s current hours and notices.
How much is admission, and do children pay?
An adult keep ticket costs ¥400, and junior-high students and younger are admitted free, according to the city. Groups of 20 or more receive a 20% discount, subject to the city’s conditions. The city also lists free admission with identification for Marugame City residents aged 65 or over and for people with disabilities and their carers; check the official admission information if you need to confirm eligibility.
Is the keep ticket cashless?
The city says the ordinary keep ticket can be paid for in cash or by cashless payment. The ¥900 combined ticket for the keep and Nakazu Banshoen is cash only. If you want the combined ticket, bring cash even if you expect to use cashless payment for the ordinary keep ticket.
Does the combined ticket mean both attractions are open on the same day?
No. The combined ticket is valid for one year from the date of purchase, but that validity does not override either facility’s opening calendar. The city says Nakazu Banshoen normally closes on Wednesdays, except on holidays, so check both facilities before you plan a same-day visit. The ticket page is the source for the combined-ticket price and conditions.
How long does it take to walk from Marugame Station to the keep?
The city estimates about 15 minutes from Marugame Station’s south exit to the castle and about 20 minutes one way from Otemon gate to the keep. The first estimate does not include the whole station-to-keep journey. Treat the estimates as separate sections, allow extra time for your own pace and stops, and keep the 16:00 last admission in mind.
Do I need a reservation for the keep or a volunteer guide?
The information available here does not establish whether ordinary keep visits require a reservation or how to book a volunteer guide. The city lists a volunteer guide service, but that does not confirm availability for a particular day. Contact the city to ask about your visit and any guide you hope to use.
Can I reach the keep in a wheelchair?
The tourist information office lists one wheelchair for free loan, but that alone does not confirm that the whole route or keep is accessible without steps. Details about the complete route, gradients, assistance requirements and the keep’s stairs are not established here. Ask the city about your specific mobility needs and the current route before visiting.
Is there parking, and is it always available?
The city lists free parking for about 50 vehicles south of the museum, normally from 6:00 to 19:00, with possible changes during events. It also lists free space for approximately five large buses at the north moat and a nearby paid Otemachi First car park. The published capacity does not guarantee an available space, so check current arrangements and distinguish car-park hours from the grounds’ 24-hour access.
Where can I find the 100 Famous Castles stamp?
The city lists the stamp inside the keep and at the museum. These are separate locations, so check access to both if you intend to collect the stamp at each. The information here does not establish the museum’s current opening arrangements, which you should confirm with the city.











