Kamakura Travel Guide: Shrine, Great Buddha and Hase
Contents
Kamakura is easier to plan when you treat it as two separate sightseeing areas: Tsurugaoka Hachimangu near Kamakura Station, and the Great Buddha at Kotoku-in together with Hasedera around Hase. The attractions have different entrance deadlines, ticket arrangements and timetables, so a single “closing time” for the whole day is not enough to plan by.
This guide compares access, admission prices and published hours recorded in official temple and tourism information on November 4, 2026. A gate closing time is not necessarily the last time you can enter, and a temple’s grounds, an inner area and a museum may each follow a different schedule. Check the relevant attraction’s current information before setting out, especially if one particular admission or facility is essential to your visit.
Contents
- Choose the two areas first
- Visit the Great Buddha at Kotoku-in
- Plan Hasedera’s hours and tickets
- Visit Tsurugaoka Hachimangu
- Build a practical day plan
- Common questions
- Continue planning
Choose the two areas first
Tsurugaoka Hachimangu is a ten-minute walk from the east exit of Kamakura Station, according to the Kamakura tourism association. Kotoku-in and Hasedera are both in the Hase area: Kotoku-in’s official English information gives an approximately seven-minute Enoden journey from Kamakura Station to Hase Station, followed by a seven-minute walk to the temple, while Hasedera lists a five-minute walk from Hase Station. These are separate journey segments, not a single end-to-end travel time between the shrine and either temple.
| Place | Published access information | Address | Planning question |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tsurugaoka Hachimangu | Ten-minute walk from Kamakura Station’s east exit | 2-1-31 Yukinoshita, Kamakura | Are you visiting the shrine grounds, the treasure museum, or another facility? |
| Kotoku-in | Approximately seven minutes by Enoden from Kamakura Station to Hase Station, then a seven-minute walk | 4-2-28 Hase, Kamakura | Do you want to see the grounds only, or also enter the Great Buddha? |
| Hasedera | Five-minute walk from Hase Station; also five minutes from the Hase Kannon bus stop | 3-11-2 Hase, Kamakura | Which seasonal admission deadline applies to your visit? |
The access figures and addresses come from the Kamakura tourism association’s Tsurugaoka Hachimangu listing, Kotoku-in’s official English information and Hasedera’s visitor guide. Use them as a starting point, then allow time for waiting, station navigation and the walk from each station to the attraction entrance. The available figures do not establish the full time for a trip between attraction entrances.
A late arrival makes the attractions’ admission cutoffs especially important. If entering the Great Buddha is a priority, plan around the Buddha interior’s earlier deadline rather than assuming that the grounds’ later closing time will be sufficient. Similarly, if you want to visit a museum at the shrine, check that facility’s hours separately from the shrine gate hours.
Visit the Great Buddha at Kotoku-in
Kotoku-in’s principal image is the Great Buddha of Kamakura, a bronze statue of Amida Buddha displayed outdoors. Seeing the statue from the temple grounds and entering the statue’s interior are distinct parts of a visit, with a separate charge and an earlier cutoff for the interior. The temple’s official information gives the address as 4-2-28 Hase, Kamakura.
| Visit | Published hours | Last admission | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Temple grounds, April–September | 08:00–17:30 | 15 minutes before closing | General admission ¥300 |
| Temple grounds, October–March | 08:00–17:00 | 15 minutes before closing | Ages 6–12: ¥150; younger than 6: free |
| Great Buddha interior | 08:00–16:30 year-round | 10 minutes before the interior’s end time | Additional ¥50 per person |
The hours and general admission prices are listed on Kotoku-in’s official English site. The interior’s year-round hours and cutoff are stated separately in the temple’s official FAQ. These sources were checked on November 4, 2026; use the temple’s own current notices for changes before travelling.
For a visit that includes the interior, allow time to enter the grounds and reach the statue before the interior’s 16:30 end time. The published rule says interior admission ends ten minutes before that end time, while grounds admission ends fifteen minutes before the grounds close. Being admitted to the grounds near their cutoff therefore does not mean you can also enter the Buddha.
Kotoku-in states that a reservation is unnecessary for the regular visit described on its official site. Its admission categories are specific: ¥300 for general admission, ¥150 for ages six through twelve, and free admission for children younger than six. The additional ¥50 interior charge is per person; do not treat it as part of the general grounds ticket.
The access information also gives an approximate seven-minute Enoden journey from Kamakura Station to Hase Station, followed by a seven-minute walk to Kotoku-in. It separately lists approximately forty minutes by Enoden from Fujisawa to Hase Station. These are published travel segments, not a promise of a complete door-to-door journey time; allow extra time for waiting and station access.
Plan Hasedera’s hours and tickets
Hasedera is five minutes on foot from Hase Station and five minutes from the Hase Kannon bus stop, according to its visitor guide. Its address is 3-11-2 Hase, Kamakura. The guide lists a normal reception period of 08:00–16:30, with the grounds closing at 17:00; from April through June, reception runs until 17:00 and the grounds close at 17:30.
| Period | Reception hours | Grounds close | Admission |
|---|---|---|---|
| Normal period | 08:00–16:30 | 17:00 | Adults ¥400; elementary-school pupils ¥200 |
| April–June | 08:00–17:00 | 17:30 | Adults ¥400; elementary-school pupils ¥200 |
The published hours, fares and access details are in Hasedera’s official visitor guide. Reception hours and the time the grounds close are not interchangeable: the guide gives separate times for each. If you are visiting during April, May or June, use the seasonal schedule rather than assuming the normal-period reception cutoff applies.
Hasedera’s age categories differ from Kotoku-in’s. Hasedera lists admission for adults and elementary-school pupils, while Kotoku-in specifies ages six through twelve and children younger than six. Apply each temple’s own published categories rather than assuming one child fare or age rule covers both places.
If you travel by bus, the Hasedera guide identifies the Hase Kannon stop as five minutes on foot from the temple. That walking estimate does not specify a bus fare, service frequency or journey time for the bus trip itself. Check the current information from the bus operator for the route and departure you intend to use.
For drivers, Hasedera lists ordinary-car parking at ¥350 per 30 minutes. The parking area cannot be reserved, and it cannot be used solely as a car park without a temple visit. Parking is a separate practical consideration from admission: the published fee does not guarantee that a space will be available when you arrive.
Hasedera states that assistance dogs for people with disabilities may accompany visitors throughout the grounds. This published condition is useful for visitors planning with an assistance dog, but it does not answer every question about gradients, steps, equipment or a particular route through the site. If you need information about a specific access requirement, contact the temple before travelling rather than assuming the assistance-dog information covers it.
Visit Tsurugaoka Hachimangu
Tsurugaoka Hachimangu is near Kamakura Station’s east exit, a ten-minute walk away according to the tourism association. Its address is 2-1-31 Yukinoshita, Kamakura. The association lists the shrine gate as open from 06:00 to 20:00, but separately lists the treasure museum at 09:00–16:00.
The treasure museum’s published admission is ¥200 for general adults and ¥100 for elementary-school pupils. It may close for exhibition changes, so check its availability if it is a key part of your plan. A shrine gate being open does not establish that every cultural facility within the grounds is open or accepting visitors at the same time.
The Tsuruga Museum has exhibition-dependent admission prices. Do not use the treasure museum’s ¥200 general-adult price as the price for a different museum or exhibition. For the visitor details and the museum distinction, see the tourism association’s shrine listing.
The association describes the shrine’s annual main festival as taking place in September. It also mentions peonies, wisteria and cherry blossoms among the flowers associated with spring at the grounds. These are useful seasonal pointers, not confirmation that a particular flower is in bloom on the day you visit or that a ceremony follows a specific timetable that year.
There is conflicting information about Tsuruga Bunko, the shrine library. The tourism association’s listing marks it as closed, while information retrieved from the shrine’s access page showed hours of 09:00–12:00 and 13:00–16:30. The page text could not be fully confirmed, so current public access remains uncertain; ask the shrine before making the library a reason for your visit. The shrine’s official access page is the place to check for current information, but the available page retrieval did not establish its complete latest contents.
The association lists paid parking at Tsurugaoka Hachimangu, but the available information here does not give a parking price or reservation condition. If you plan to drive, confirm the current details before relying on parking at the shrine. The published walking option from Kamakura Station’s east exit provides a separate way to reach the grounds.
Build a practical day plan
Start by deciding what you most want to see, then work backwards from the earliest relevant admission cutoff. For a Hase-area visit that includes the Great Buddha’s interior, its reception cutoff is earlier than Kotoku-in’s grounds closing time. For a shrine visit that includes the treasure museum, the museum’s 09:00–16:00 hours are separate from the shrine gate’s 06:00–20:00 opening.
A simple way to compare the published adult charges is to add only the admissions you actually intend to use. Kotoku-in grounds admission at ¥300 plus Hasedera adult admission at ¥400 comes to ¥700; adding the Great Buddha interior’s extra ¥50 makes that combination ¥750. These figures do not include a shrine museum, transport, parking or any exhibition-specific Tsuruga Museum price, and the available facility information does not establish a combined ticket.
| If your priority is… | Schedule around… | Check separately |
|---|---|---|
| The Great Buddha from the grounds | Kotoku-in grounds admission cutoff, 15 minutes before closing | Seasonal grounds hours and admission |
| Entering the Great Buddha | Interior admission cutoff, 10 minutes before its 16:30 end time | Grounds admission and the extra ¥50 charge |
| Hasedera during April–June | Reception through 17:00; grounds close at 17:30 | The seasonal period and current visitor information |
| The shrine treasure museum | Museum hours, 09:00–16:00 | Exhibition-change closures and its separate admission |
| Tsuruga Museum | The particular exhibition you want to see | Exhibition-dependent price and current opening details |
| Tsuruga Bunko | Confirmed current public access | Conflicting listing information |
Treat each transport figure as one part of a journey. For instance, Kotoku-in’s approximately seven-minute Enoden trip from Kamakura to Hase Station is followed by a listed seven-minute walk, while Hasedera lists a five-minute walk from that same station. The figures help identify the two Hase-area attractions as a cluster, but they do not include waiting or describe the complete trip from Tsurugaoka Hachimangu to either temple entrance.
If you arrive later than planned, reconsider the order rather than trying to squeeze in every site. A late start may make a facility with an earlier admission cutoff the deciding factor, even if another attraction remains open later. Choosing one museum or the Buddha interior as a priority can also make it easier to decide which separate admission charges are relevant to your day.
For current travel between the station areas, check the transport operator’s information for your travel date. The attraction access figures are helpful orientation, but they do not establish current service frequency or the exact time needed for a particular connection. The same principle applies to bus access at Hasedera: the temple gives the walk from the Hase Kannon stop, not the details of the bus journey.
Common questions
Can I enter the Great Buddha near Kotoku-in’s closing time?
Kotoku-in lists grounds admission until fifteen minutes before the seasonal closing time. The Buddha interior follows a separate schedule of 08:00–16:30 year-round, with admission ending ten minutes before that time. If entering the statue matters, plan around the interior cutoff rather than relying on the grounds’ closing time.
Is a reservation required at Kotoku-in?
Kotoku-in states that a reservation is unnecessary for the regular visit described on its official site. That statement supports the regular visit information, not necessarily every special activity or unusual arrangement. Check the temple’s current notices if your plans involve something beyond that visit.
Does Hasedera have the same hours throughout the year?
No: the visitor guide lists normal reception hours of 08:00–16:30 and a 17:00 grounds closing time, but in April through June reception runs until 17:00 and the grounds close at 17:30. Use the relevant seasonal schedule when planning your arrival. The guide used here does not specify a regular closure day.
Do the Great Buddha and Hasedera have one children’s ticket category?
No shared category is established by the published prices. Kotoku-in lists ¥150 for ages six to twelve and free admission for children younger than six, while Hasedera lists ¥200 for elementary-school pupils. Check each temple’s own category for the child visiting.
Can I reserve Hasedera’s parking?
Hasedera says its parking cannot be reserved and cannot be used solely for parking without a temple visit. The listed ordinary-car rate is ¥350 per 30 minutes. A parking charge does not guarantee a space, so do not make a reservation assumption based on the fee.
Is Tsuruga Bunko open to visitors?
Current public access could not be confirmed from the available information. The tourism association marks the library closed, while information retrieved from the shrine access page showed hours, but the page text could not be fully verified. Contact the shrine before planning around a library visit.
Are the shrine grounds and its museums on the same timetable?
No single timetable is given for every part of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu. The association lists the shrine gate at 06:00–20:00 and the treasure museum at 09:00–16:00, with possible museum closures for exhibition changes. Tsuruga Museum prices also vary by exhibition, so check the facility you intend to visit.
Is there a combined ticket for these attractions?
The facility information used for this guide does not establish a combined ticket. Kotoku-in, its interior, Hasedera and shrine museums have separate charges or conditions. Add only the admissions that apply to your plan and confirm exhibition-specific details separately.











