Hyogo Food Guide: Kobe Beef, Akashi Specialties and More

Kansai Food 11 min read Last checked: 2026-11-04
Contents

Hyogo’s food is much broader than Kobe beef. The prefectural tourism guide highlights seafood, regional noodles, local dishes and produce from different parts of the prefecture, including Akashi sea bream and octopus, Ako oysters, Banshu hand-stretched somen, Izushi soba and Awaji Island onions. Use those specialties to decide what you would like to try, then check the restaurant’s current menu, price, location and operating information for your travel date.

The examples and restaurant details below were checked against the cited pages on 4 November 2026. Published menu prices are not necessarily a current quote for every diner, and the reviewed sources do not establish the tax treatment of the Steakland menu examples. Treat them as reference figures and confirm the total with the restaurant before ordering.

In this guide

Kobe beef→Akashi seafood→Banshu somen→Izushi soba→Awaji onions
A regional name identifies a direction for research, not a guaranteed menu.
Dish→Provider→Current price→Ingredients→Opening and location
Regional foods and individual shops have different conditions.

Compare Hyogo’s regional specialties

The Hyogo tourism food guide is a useful starting point for choosing a dish, rather than a price list or a guarantee that a particular restaurant will serve it. It introduces specialties from different parts of the prefecture, including meat, seafood, noodles and local dishes. The source does not give a universal price, season or restaurant for each item, so check the provider’s current information before making a detour.

Kobe beef→Akashi seafood→Ako oysters→Izushi soba→Banshu somen
Match the dish to the place and current provider.
Specialty What the prefectural guide highlights What to check with the provider
Kobe beef Beef from Tajima cattle in Hyogo that meets specified conditions Exact designation, cut, portion, menu price and final bill
Akashi sea bream and octopus Seafood associated with Akashi Current menu, preparation and availability
Akashiyaki Also introduced as tamago-yaki Ingredients, preparation and serving at the individual shop
Ako oysters A Hyogo seafood specialty Whether they are being served on your date, preparation and price
Banshu hand-stretched somen A regional noodle specialty Current menu, serving and shop information
Izushi soba A regional soba specialty Current menu, serving and price
Awaji Island onions A regional product Whether the current dish or product includes them
Himeji oden, sobameshi and katsumeshi Examples of local dishes The shop’s menu, ingredients and current conditions

The guide also describes crab from Hyogo’s Sea of Japan side as a winter food. That broad seasonal description does not confirm a particular species, today’s catch, a restaurant’s supply or the price on your travel date; ask the provider what is currently available. More generally, a regional dish name helps narrow your search, but it does not tell you the exact ingredients, portion size or suitability for a particular diet.

A practical way to use this list is to start with the area you plan to visit and choose one or two foods that interest you. Then look for a shop whose own information names the dish, rather than assuming that every restaurant in the area serves it. If you are deciding between seafood, noodles and a local rice or oden dish, compare the actual menus and opening information for the places you might visit instead of relying on a general prefectural description.

Kobe beef and Steakland’s published menu

Hyogo tourism describes Kobe beef as Tajima cattle from Hyogo that meet specified conditions. A menu item called “tender steak” should not automatically be treated as Kobe beef: in the published Steakland menu, some tender items are explicitly named Kobe beef, while two lower-priced tender lunches are not. Check the wording of the exact item, along with its portion, any set inclusions and the final total, on the restaurant’s current menu.

Kobe beef steak lunch 150 g→¥3,880 listed; tender S lunch 100 g→Kobe not stated
Similar item names do not establish the same beef designation.
Kobe-kan: building 6F→Kobe branch: building 1F–2F→Confirm chosen branch
Similar branch names have different addresses and hours.

The figures below are published menu amounts recorded on 4 November 2026. The page is in a travel-agency-oriented section, and the reviewed information did not establish whether these amounts include tax or whether individual diners receive the same terms. They are useful for comparing the listed items, but they are not a confirmed current individual quote.

Published menu wording Portion Listed amount Comparison note
Kobe beef steak lunch 150 g ¥3,880 The item is named Kobe beef
Kobe beef tender lunch 150 g ¥4,880 The item is named Kobe beef
Tender S lunch 100 g ¥2,380 The source does not identify it as Kobe beef
Tender L lunch 150 g ¥2,980 The source does not identify it as Kobe beef
Kobe beef steak set 180 g ¥5,480 Confirm current terms and what the set includes
Kobe beef tender set 160 g ¥6,480 Confirm current terms and what the set includes
Kobe beef steak dinner 180 g ¥7,480 Confirm current individual offer and tax
Kobe beef tender dinner 160 g ¥8,480 Confirm current individual offer and tax

The list makes two distinctions worth keeping in mind when budgeting. First, the ¥2,380 Tender S lunch and ¥2,980 Tender L lunch are not identified as Kobe beef in the reviewed menu, so do not compare them as though they were lower-priced Kobe beef portions. Second, lunch, set and dinner entries differ in both menu wording and weight; ask what is included rather than assuming that two similarly named dishes come with the same sides or conditions.

The same menu lists grilled vegetables at ¥660 and dessert at ¥550. It also lists butter-grilled live kuruma prawn at ¥2,480, butter-grilled live abalone at ¥4,880, and a butter-grilled seafood assortment at ¥2,980. The reviewed source does not establish the tax treatment or your final bill for these items, so confirm the current menu and any additional conditions directly with the restaurant. See the Steakland menu for the published wording and figures.

Steakland locations and hours

The company’s restaurant information page lists two Kobe locations with different addresses and telephone numbers. Check the branch name as well as the address when planning a visit, especially if you are comparing it with a menu listing. The published information is not confirmation that a branch will be open or have a table available on your chosen date.

Location listed by Steakland Address Telephone Published hours
Kobe-kan Sannomiya Kogyo Building 6F, 1-9-17 Kitanagasadori, Chuo Ward, Kobe 078-332-2900 Lunch 11:00–14:00; dinner 17:00–21:30; last order 20:30
Kobe branch Miyasako Building 1F–2F, 1-8-2 Kitanagasadori, Chuo Ward, Kobe 078-332-1653 11:00–21:30; last order 20:30

Steakland says that it may close early depending on circumstances, so published hours should not be treated as a guarantee that service will continue until the listed end time. Before setting out, confirm the branch, its current hours and whether the menu item you are considering applies to your party. Ask about any reservation conditions, the total price and the tax treatment rather than assuming that the figures on the menu page establish them.

The same company page also lists Steak Yamazaki as open 17:00–22:00, with last order at 21:00, and gives Sunday as its regular closing day. These are the listed details, not a confirmation of service on a particular date; check the company’s latest information before relying on them. Keep this listing separate from the two Steakland branches above when checking the address or arranging a visit.

Akashi, Ako and regional noodles

The prefectural guide highlights Akashi sea bream and octopus, Ako oysters, Banshu hand-stretched somen and Izushi soba, and it also uses the name tamago-yaki for Akashiyaki. These names help identify regional food choices, but the guide does not establish that every shop serves every dish or provide a current price. Check an individual restaurant’s menu and operating details before travelling there.

Pick dish→Choose area→Check provider hours→Confirm ingredients and price
A prefecture-wide list is not a live restaurant menu.

For seafood, ask what preparation is currently offered and whether the dish is available on your date. The prefectural overview does not confirm the day’s supply, and a general description of a specialty is not a promise that a particular restaurant has it in stock. If you have an allergy or dietary restriction, explain it to the venue and confirm the ingredients of the entire dish, including sauces and preparation; the guide does not list all allergens.

Banshu somen and Izushi soba are different regional noodle examples, not interchangeable names for one dish. The source does not establish a standard serving size, price or reservation rule for either, so use each shop’s own menu when comparing them. Hyogo tourism also names Himeji oden, sobameshi and katsumeshi; check the actual restaurant’s description and ingredients if you have a particular dish in mind.

When choosing between these options, compare what the current provider actually offers rather than assuming a standard regional recipe or portion. This is especially useful if you are deciding between a seafood meal and a noodle meal, or need to confirm whether a dish suits someone in your party. The prefectural food guide provides the regional overview; the shop’s current information is the place to confirm the details that affect your order.

Roushouki pork buns in Nankinmachi

The Nankinmachi association describes Roushouki as a pork-bun specialist and lists cash-only payment. Roushouki’s own shop page lists the address as 1-3-7 Motomachidori, telephone 078-331-7726, and a walk of about five minutes from Motomachi Station. These are the shop details recorded in the source research, not confirmation of its operating location on the day you visit.

Confirm operating location→Check date→Cash policy→Current stock
Address, closure and sell-out status need a current check.

The shop page lists hours of 10:00–18:30, with sales ending when the buns sell out. That means the listed closing time is not a guarantee that buns will still be available then. If visiting is important to your plans, check the latest shop notice before setting out and consider that sales may finish earlier when stock is gone.

The two official listings disagree about the regular closing day. The shop’s page says closures are irregular, while the Nankinmachi association listing says Monday, moving the closure to the following day when Monday is a holiday. Do not treat either description as certainly current without checking the latest notice for your date.

There is a further location uncertainty to account for: the reviewed shop information did not establish where Roushouki is operating during rebuilding or when it will reopen at the usual listed address. Confirm the current operating location as well as opening status before travelling to 1-3-7 Motomachidori. The association listing is useful for the cash-only note, while the shop’s own page provides its listed telephone number and address; neither should replace a current confirmation if the visit depends on it.

How to plan a meal and compare costs

Start by choosing a specialty and the part of Hyogo you intend to visit, then identify a particular provider. A prefectural overview can tell you which foods are associated with the region, but it cannot confirm a restaurant’s menu, price or availability on your travel date. For a named restaurant, use its own current information and check the branch or operating location before you go.

Exact dish and weight→Tax
service→Branch and hours→Dietary needs→Total
A useful comparison uses the same conditions.

For a meaningful price comparison, match the exact item and serving rather than comparing unlike menu labels. The Steakland figures, for example, distinguish Kobe beef items from Tender S and Tender L lunches that the reviewed source does not identify as Kobe beef. They also include different portions and lunch, set and dinner listings, so ask what the selected item includes and whether the listed conditions apply to you.

A useful pre-visit check is:

  1. Choose the dish and area. Use the prefectural guide to identify possible specialties, then decide which one matters most for your meal.
  2. Open the provider’s current menu. Confirm the exact dish name, ingredients, portion and listed price rather than relying on a general food description.
  3. Check the branch and operating details. Verify the address, current location, opening day and hours for the place you intend to visit.
  4. Ask about conditions that affect the total. Confirm tax or other charges where the source does not specify them, and ask whether the published menu applies to your party.
  5. Explain dietary requirements directly. Ask the provider about the full dish and preparation; the prefectural overview does not establish every allergen.
  6. Keep the meal price separate from the trip budget. A listed dish amount is not a complete day budget and does not include travel or other meals.

For Steakland, the published menu and restaurant page answer different questions: one gives menu examples and the other lists branches and hours. For Roushouki, check both its shop information and the Nankinmachi association listing, because their regular-closure descriptions differ. Confirm the information again close to your visit if a change in location, early closure or sold-out status would disrupt your plans.

Frequently asked questions

Is Kobe beef the same as Tajima beef?

Hyogo tourism describes Kobe beef as Tajima cattle from Hyogo that meet specified conditions. The name therefore should not be applied automatically to every menu item described as steak or tender beef. Check that the restaurant’s current menu names the item as Kobe beef and confirm the portion and price with the provider.

Is Steakland’s ¥2,380 Tender S lunch Kobe beef?

The reviewed Steakland menu lists Tender S lunch at 100 g for ¥2,380, but it does not identify that item as Kobe beef. The menu also lists a Tender L lunch at 150 g for ¥2,980, without identifying that item as Kobe beef. Confirm the current offer and exact wording with the restaurant before ordering.

What is Akashiyaki, and is it also called tamago-yaki?

Hyogo’s tourism guide introduces Akashiyaki under the name tamago-yaki as well. That identification does not establish the ingredients or preparation at every shop. Ask the individual venue how it makes and serves the dish, especially if you need to check ingredients or dietary suitability.

Can I rely on Roushouki’s listed address and hours?

Roushouki’s shop page lists 1-3-7 Motomachidori, about five minutes on foot from Motomachi Station, and hours of 10:00–18:30, ending when sold out. The reviewed information did not establish its operating location during rebuilding or a reopening date at the usual address, so check the latest notice before travelling. The listed closing time also does not guarantee that buns will remain available until then.

Which day is Roushouki closed?

The shop’s page describes its closures as irregular, while the Nankinmachi association listing gives Monday, with the closure moving to the following day if Monday is a holiday. Because the official listings do not match, do not rely on one as certainly current. Check the latest information for your intended date.

Are Steakland’s published prices the final amount for an individual diner?

The figures are listed on Steakland’s menu page, but the reviewed research did not establish their tax treatment or that the same conditions apply to every individual diner. The menu page is in a travel-agency-oriented section, so treat its amounts as references rather than a confirmed personal quote. Ask the restaurant to confirm the current offer and total before ordering.

Are seafood and other regional dishes available all year?

The prefectural guide describes Hyogo’s Sea of Japan-side crab as a winter food and highlights other seafood specialties, including Akashi sea bream and octopus and Ako oysters. Those general descriptions do not establish a restaurant’s supply or the menu on a particular date. Ask the provider what is being served when you plan to visit.

Travel inspiration in photos

5-Day Japan Travel Itinerary | OSAKA, KYOTO, NARA & KOBE: day trips, places to eat, travel tips5-Day Japan Travel Itinerary | OSAKA, KYOTO, NARA & KOBE: day trips, places to eat, travel tips679919 viewsYouTube ↗
36 hours in osaka 🇯🇵 best matcha cafes, dotonbori street food & vintage shopping!36 hours in osaka 🇯🇵 best matcha cafes, dotonbori street food & vintage shopping!655934 viewsYouTube ↗
Nara Park Day Trip Guide for Families (Kid-Friendly!) | JM BanquicioNara Park Day Trip Guide for Families (Kid-Friendly!) | JM Banquicio81726 viewsYouTube ↗
[Winter in Kyoto] 5 Must-Try Warm Sweets | A Guide to Warming Sweets (Zenzai, Taiyaki, Fondue, an...[Winter in Kyoto] 5 Must-Try Warm Sweets | A Guide to Warming Sweets (Zenzai, Taiyaki, Fondue, an...63043 viewsYouTube ↗
Japan’s High-Speed Train Network is Insane 🇯🇵 (Osaka to Hiroshima)Japan’s High-Speed Train Network is Insane 🇯🇵 (Osaka to Hiroshima)56618 viewsYouTube ↗
Trying $14 Capsule Hotel in Osaka Japan like TRON | Esports Hotel e-ZONeTrying $14 Capsule Hotel in Osaka Japan like TRON | Esports Hotel e-ZONe54560 viewsYouTube ↗
Okonomiyaki in Osaka (Japan Travel)【やっぱり美味い】大阪のお好み焼き!Okonomiyaki in Osaka (Japan Travel)【やっぱり美味い】大阪のお好み焼き!53487 viewsYouTube ↗
How to spend 2 Days in OSAKA 🇯🇵 (must-dos and hidden foodie finds) | follow along itinerary 2026How to spend 2 Days in OSAKA 🇯🇵 (must-dos and hidden foodie finds) | follow along itinerary 202626939 viewsYouTube ↗
【OSAKA】Where to Stay in Osaka? 5 Main Areas&Recommended Hotels in Osaka【JAPAN】【OSAKA】Where to Stay in Osaka? 5 Main Areas&Recommended Hotels in Osaka【JAPAN】22015 viewsYouTube ↗
Osaka castle and Toyotomi HideyoshiOsaka castle and Toyotomi Hideyoshi16516 viewsYouTube ↗
A family takes the scenic train, a carriage, and a Hozugawa boat ride. ([youtube.com](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3J5VSdqPW4Y&utm_source=openai))A family takes the scenic train, a carriage, and a Hozugawa boat ride. ([youtube.com](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3J5VSdqPW4Y&utm_source=openai))16496 viewsYouTube ↗
The Michelin Guide Ramen:All Best 7 ranking in Michelin Osaka 2022.The Michelin Guide Ramen:All Best 7 ranking in Michelin Osaka 2022.16397 viewsYouTube ↗

Find answers in the guides

Browse all guides · Share your Japan post

Reader travel posts