Hakuba Ski Guide: Choose Your Pass, Route and Lessons
Contents
Hakuba Valley’s all-mountain pass covers ten ski resorts across Omachi, Hakuba and Otari. For the 2026–27 season, an adult one-day pass costs ¥11,100, including tax. The pass can give you flexibility between covered resorts, but it does not arrange accommodation, equipment or lessons, so plan those separately before buying.
The easiest way to organise a Hakuba ski trip is to decide where you will ski on your first day, confirm any lesson arrangements, and then choose a pass that fits your dates. Next, check how you will get from your arrival point to your accommodation and between resorts. Keep the ticket’s validity window and your return transport in view, because an eligible shuttle ride can use a day of the pass.
1. Choose a resort and make a first-day plan
Begin with the official Hakuba Valley resort directory. Its listings include Hakuba Happo-One, ABLE Hakuba Goryu, Hakuba47, Tsugaike, Hakuba Iwatake and Hakuba Cortina. These are examples from the wider directory, not a complete list of all ten resorts covered by the pass.
The shared ticket makes it possible to visit more than one covered resort on the same day, but it does not make the resorts interchangeable. The resorts can have different operating arrangements, terrain rules and lesson options, and the official directory is the place to start checking which destination fits your plans. Confirm the operating information for your dates rather than assuming that a resort listed in the directory will have the same hours or available terrain as another.
If you are new to skiing or snowboarding, make the first decision about instruction and the lesson meeting point, not about how many resorts you can visit. If you are travelling with children, check each child’s ticket category and ask the school about age eligibility before you book. For a group with different experience levels, settle on a first-day plan that works for the person who needs the most support.
The official resort directory does not provide a verified level-by-level comparison in the information used for this guide. Treat resort names as destinations to research, rather than assuming that a particular resort is automatically best for beginners, families or advanced skiers. Avoid selecting an advanced route because it looks straightforward in a video: a film shows one person on one occasion, not the route’s current condition, access status or suitability for your group.
WhereIsAnt’s Hakuba video focuses on accommodation and resort-planning tips, while Bike Hike Ski Adventures features Hakuba47 and Hakuba Goryu in a skiing video. These can help you recognise places and think about trip logistics, but they do not establish current operating conditions or permission to use a particular route. Check the resort’s current information and follow on-site instructions when you arrive.
2. Compare Hakuba Valley’s 2026–27 pass prices
The prices below are for Hakuba Valley’s all-mountain products, not automatically for tickets sold by individual resorts. The official ticket page was checked on 4 November 2026, and the prices listed here include tax. Check that page again when making a purchase, since this guide’s figures are tied to that check date and season.
| Pass | Price, including tax | Validity and key details |
|---|---|---|
| Adult one day | ¥11,100 | One ski day |
| Child one day | ¥6,400 | Child category: elementary-school children aged 6–12 |
| Adult two days | ¥21,800 | Use within four days from the starting date |
| Adult three days | ¥32,200 | Use within six days from the starting date |
The adult category is junior-high-school age and above, listed as age 13 or older. The child category is elementary-school age, six to twelve. The usual free category is age five and under, but Jigatake and Kashimayari are exceptions: their free category is under three, so check the relevant resort’s conditions when travelling with a young child.
The adult two-day pass costs ¥21,800, while two separate adult one-day passes would total ¥22,200. That is a ¥400 difference between those ticket options, before considering any other part of the trip. The adult three-day pass costs ¥32,200; compare it with the days you realistically expect to ski and the validity window, rather than treating the number of ticket days as the number of calendar days available.
The two-day pass must be used within four days from its starting date, and the three-day pass within six days. Any remaining days not used before the validity period ends become invalid. Write down the starting date and the last date in the window, especially if your itinerary includes a rest day or a day spent travelling.
On a day when you use the pass, eligible shuttle services between operating covered resorts are included. You can visit more than one covered resort on that day, but night skiing and the night shuttle are not included. A bus-only day still consumes one day of the pass, so using the ticket for transport without skiing can affect the number of ski days remaining.
The price comparison covers tickets only. It does not establish the cost of accommodation, transport to Hakuba, meals, equipment or lessons, and the information here does not give prices for those items. Individual-resort tickets may have different prices and conditions, so do not apply the all-mountain prices or age categories to a separate resort product without checking its own details.
For a new ticket, the official page says it can be collected using a QR code at a counter or machine. Follow the instructions shown for the product you buy, and allow the collection step for your own travel plan. Buying a pass does not itself reserve a lesson, arrange equipment or confirm that a particular resort will be operating on your chosen day.
3. Plan your journey and shuttle use
Hakuba Valley’s access page describes the fastest journey from Tokyo as about two hours and fifty minutes using the Hokuriku Shinkansen and an express bus. This is an advertised fastest journey, not a guarantee for a particular departure or a door-to-door travel time. Your starting station, time between connections and onward journey to your accommodation all affect the total.
Work backwards from the place you are staying and the time you need to reach your first activity. Check the train and bus combination for your actual date, then confirm how you will travel from the arrival stop to your accommodation. The official access page links to shuttle timetable PDFs; use the timetable that applies to your travel season instead of assuming that a previous winter’s service will repeat.
| Journey or transport choice | What the official information establishes | What to check before travelling |
|---|---|---|
| Tokyo to Hakuba | Hokuriku Shinkansen plus express bus; fastest advertised journey about 2 hr 50 min | Your actual departure, connection and final destination |
| Between resorts | Shuttles operate between ski resorts; eligible services are included on pass-use days | Applicable timetable, stops, direction and return service |
| Night transport | Night shuttle is outside the all-mountain pass coverage | Whether a service runs for your dates and its separate payment conditions |
| Bus on a non-ski day | Bus-only use consumes a day of the pass | Whether you want to use a pass day for that journey |
The all-mountain ticket can help with eligible transport between operating covered resorts on a day of use, but it does not mean every bus is included. Night shuttle service is excluded, and a trip that uses only a bus still counts as a pass day. Check the applicable service and timetable before setting out, particularly when you need to return to your accommodation or connect with another journey.
The official access information establishes that resort shuttles operate, but it does not, by itself, confirm a particular service for every date or a connection from every accommodation. Do not build a tight itinerary around an assumed bus time. Keep the relevant timetable and your intended return connection together with your ski-day plan.
Chasing Free’s Hakuba video takes a no-car approach to a ski trip and may be useful as a prompt to think about transport choices. Treat the video as an illustration, not as a current timetable or confirmation that a route will suit your dates. For wider connections and trip planning, see our Japan public transport guide; if you are also comparing a Hokkaido destination, see our Niseko ski guide.
4. Arrange lessons and prepare for your first day
Hakuba Valley recommends lessons at resort-approved schools and provides an official ski-school directory. The directory lists G Ski Academy at Jigatake as offering Japanese, English and Chinese, with a minimum age of four. It also lists Kishi Masami Snowboard School as offering Japanese and English.
A directory language listing does not confirm that a particular instructor or lesson is available on your date. Contact the school before relying on a language option, and ask whether it can accommodate your group’s needs. The official information cited here does not establish current lesson prices, availability, booking deadlines, equipment rental costs or accommodation prices.
When contacting a school, give the ages of everyone taking part and describe each person’s experience. Say whether you need ski or snowboard instruction, and ask where the group meets and what must be ready before arrival. Confirm which lift ticket is appropriate for the lesson arrangement, and ask what the school will do if operations change.
A practical first-day sequence is to confirm the school and meeting point, check the applicable shuttle timetable, and then choose the ticket that matches your plan. Leave time in your schedule for equipment collection, getting dressed and travelling to the meeting point; the available information does not specify how long each step takes, so avoid assuming that arrival at the resort means you are ready to start a lesson. Set up your return journey before adding another resort to the day.
Visiting multiple covered resorts in one day is permitted under the all-mountain pass, but travel between them still takes time. The pass does not remove the need to check the relevant service or to follow the school’s instructions. A simpler first-day plan can make it easier to arrive at the lesson meeting point and keep your return journey clear.
Use this sequence to put the pieces together:
- Open the official school directory and identify a school serving the resort you plan to visit.
- Contact the school with participants’ ages, experience and language needs, and confirm its meeting instructions.
- Check the official ticket page and match the ticket to the lesson and travel plan.
- Open the access page and check the shuttle timetable that applies to your season.
- Confirm how you will reach the meeting point and return to your accommodation.
- Collect a new pass using the QR code at the designated counter or machine, following the ticket instructions.
Jackie of The Creative Life features beginner lessons at Hakuba Goryu and Escal Plaza, and namyang shares a Hakuba winter ski-trip vlog. These videos may offer a visual impression of a trip, but they do not confirm a school’s current availability, lesson conditions or current resort operations. Use the official directory and direct confirmation from the school for booking decisions.
5. Follow resort boundaries and safety guidance
Read Hakuba Valley’s safety guidance and follow the directions at the resort. The guidance identifies boundary poles by their yellow-and-black tops and closed-area poles by their yellow tops. Ski only on permitted courses, and ask patrol or resort staff if you are unsure whether an area is open or a route is allowed.
Keep your speed low enough that you can avoid another person or stop. Slow down at merging points and where people are getting on or off lifts, and look around before setting off. Stop at the side of a course, rather than in its traffic line, and do not stop immediately below a change in gradient where people above may not be able to see you.
The all-mountain pass covers ten resorts; it does not grant permission to ski every area within the valley. A pass is not a substitute for the resort’s directions, the day’s permitted courses or patrol advice. If a route or marker is unclear, pause and ask rather than relying on what it looked like in a film.
POCKET GUIDE JAPAN presents an uncut skiing video at Hakuba Iwatake Snow Field. Before comparing a video with your plans, check which resort it shows: Iwatake, Goryu, Happo-One and other resort names refer to particular destinations, not interchangeable stops. A video of trees, fresh snow or an untracked slope does not establish current access rules or conditions.
The safety guidance applies whether you are following a lesson plan or skiing independently. Keep the route within permitted courses, look around before moving, and choose a speed that leaves room to stop or avoid others. For wider travel planning around your ski days, see our first-time Japan travel tips.
6. Questions to ask before buying
Before paying, check that you are looking at the 2026–27 all-mountain product and not a ticket sold by an individual resort. Confirm the age category for each person, the pass’s starting date and its validity window. Then compare the ticket days with the days you expect to ski, remembering that a bus-only use consumes a day.
Next, check how you will reach your resort and what you will do at the end of the day. The fastest Tokyo journey advertised by Hakuba Valley is about two hours and fifty minutes by Hokuriku Shinkansen and express bus, but that is not a guaranteed connection or a complete door-to-door estimate. Use the current timetable for your travel season and include the onward journey to your accommodation.
If you plan to take lessons, contact a resort-approved school and confirm the details directly. The official directory lists languages and some school information, but it does not establish a particular day’s availability or lesson price. Ask about age eligibility, meeting instructions and the ticket needed for your plan before buying.
Does the all-mountain pass cover every Hakuba resort?
It covers ten ski resorts across Omachi, Hakuba and Otari, according to the official ticket information. The official resort directory lists destinations including Happo-One, ABLE Hakuba Goryu, Hakuba47, Tsugaike, Iwatake and Cortina. Check the directory and the operating information for your dates rather than assuming that every resort is operating or that all resort conditions are identical.
Can I visit more than one resort on the same day?
Yes, the all-mountain pass allows use of more than one covered resort on the same day. Eligible shuttle services between operating covered resorts are included on a day when you use the pass. Check the applicable timetable and allow for the travel involved, since the ticket does not make transfers instantaneous or confirm a specific connection.
What are the 2026–27 pass prices?
The adult one-day pass is ¥11,100, the child one-day pass is ¥6,400, the adult two-day pass is ¥21,800 and the adult three-day pass is ¥32,200; all prices include tax. The two-day pass is valid within four days from its starting date, and the three-day pass within six days. These are all-mountain product prices, not confirmed prices for tickets sold separately by individual resorts.
What age counts as an adult or child?
The all-mountain ticket lists the adult category as junior-high-school age and above, aged 13 or older. The child category is elementary-school age, from six to twelve. The usual free category is age five and under, but Jigatake and Kashimayari have an exception: their free category is under three, so check the relevant resort when travelling with younger children.
Does using a shuttle use a day of my pass?
Yes. Eligible shuttle services between operating covered resorts are included on a day of pass use, but bus-only use still consumes one day of the pass. This matters if you plan to take a rest day or use a shuttle without skiing, because it can reduce the number of ticket days left within the validity window.
Does the all-mountain pass include night skiing or the night shuttle?
No. Night skiing and the night shuttle are outside the all-mountain pass coverage. Check the current resort and transport information for your dates, including any separate payment conditions; the information in this guide does not specify their prices or availability.
Can I get an English-speaking lesson?
The official school directory lists English among the languages offered by G Ski Academy at Jigatake and Kishi Masami Snowboard School. G Ski Academy is listed as offering Japanese, English and Chinese, with a minimum age of four; Kishi Masami Snowboard School is listed as offering Japanese and English. Contact the school directly to confirm an instructor, age eligibility and a place for your dates.
How long does it take to get from Tokyo to Hakuba?
Hakuba Valley advertises a fastest journey of about two hours and fifty minutes using the Hokuriku Shinkansen and an express bus. This is a fastest-journey indication, not a guaranteed connection for your departure or a door-to-door travel time. Check the actual train and bus combination for your date and include the onward journey from the arrival point to your accommodation.
How do I collect a new pass?
The official ticket page says new tickets can be collected using a QR code at a counter or machine. Follow the instructions for the product you purchase and check the page for the applicable collection details. The ticket collection step does not book a lesson or confirm resort operations.
What should I do if a boundary or route is unclear?
Follow Hakuba Valley’s safety guidance and the directions at the resort, and ski only on permitted courses. Boundary poles have yellow-and-black tops, while closed-area poles have yellow tops. If you are uncertain, ask patrol or resort staff rather than relying on a video or assuming that a route is open.




![Kyoto, Hanamachi Miyagawacho - Geisha District in Kyoto [4K] POV](https://i.ytimg.com/vi/2tGT1XobPgg/mqdefault.jpg)






