Best Japanese Sweets in Tokyo: 10 Shops

Tokyo Areas & sights 15 min read Last checked: 2026-11-03
Contents

For one sweet to try, start with Habutae Dango Honten in Nippori, whose official product page lists a grilled dango stick. For a planned sweets-and-tea experience, consider Kukuku in Roppongi, which takes bookings through OMAKASE. If you are shopping for a group, Chomeiji Sakuramochi lists a 20-piece box; check its current availability and storage instructions before you buy.

Wagashi means traditional Japanese sweets. The selection below is organized around shops, areas and purchase types, not a ranking of taste or sales. Listed prices were checked on November 3, 2026, except where a different date is stated; they are examples, not guaranteed current quotes. Confirm current prices, product availability and opening information with each shop before making a special trip.

Compare 10 Japanese sweets shops in Tokyo

First decide whether you want one sweet, a box to share, a course, or a stop that fits another part of your itinerary. The table gives a starting point for that decision, while distinguishing sourced prices from details that remain unconfirmed. A listed award or selection is evidence of that selection, not proof that one shop is better than another.

Check the quantity before ordering.
Habutae · 1 stick · ¥378→Chomeiji · 20 pieces · ¥6,400→Kukuku · 5 sweets and 5 teas
Check the quantity before ordering.
Compare the purchase size before comparing prices.
Habutae · 1 stick · ¥378→Chomeiji · 20 pieces · ¥6,400→Kukuku · 5 sweets and 5 teas · ¥13,200
Compare the purchase size before comparing prices.
Save the branch, product and practical details before you go.
Habutae · 1 stick→Chomeiji · 20 pieces→Kukuku · course booking→Oiwake · product reservation
Save the branch, product and practical details before you go.
Find the shop card that fits your plans.
1 Kukuku · Roppongi→2 Habutae · Nippori→3 Kototoi · Mukojima→4 Chomeiji · Mukojima→5 Oiwake · Shinjuku-sanchome
Find the shop card that fits your plans.
Check the party requirements and current price when booking.
Tuesday closed→Wednesday to Sunday · 12:00–18:00→OMAKASE→Confirm course
Check the party requirements and current price when booking.
Reserving a product does not reserve a tea-room seat.
Call about products→Confirm pickup→Tea-room seats · no reservations
Reserving a product does not reserve a tea-room seat.
Check the full branch name before setting out.
6 Usagiya · Nihonbashi→7 Kuya · Ginza→8 Umemura · Asakusa→9 Kameju · Tokyo→10 Eitaro · Nihonbashi
Check the full branch name before setting out.
A product reservation is not a seat reservation.
Kukuku · OMAKASE→Oiwake · phone for products→Oiwake · no seat booking→Kototoi · no reservations listed
A product reservation is not a seat reservation.
Match your question to the right information.
Kukuku · booking→Habutae · 1 stick→Oiwake · seats→Tokyo Station · shop location→Chomeiji · 20 pieces
Match your question to the right information.
Use the source that matches your question.
Habutae · product page→Chomeiji · product page→Kukuku · official booking→Tabelog · seasonal course→Eitaro · 2024 guide
Use the source that matches your question.
Kiko
Shop and area A reason to consider it Listed price and quantity Booking or information to check
Kukuku, Roppongi A planned sweets-and-tea course Tabelog lists a seasonal course of five sweets and five teas at ¥13,200, tax included; checked November 3, 2026 The official site directs bookings to OMAKASE. Confirm the current course and cancellation terms.
Habutae Dango Honten, Nippori Try one listed grilled dango stick ¥378 for one stick; the source does not state whether tax is included English visitor information is available through the Tokyo Metropolitan Government restaurant guide. Check current hours and ordering details.
Kototoi Dango, Mukojima A sweets stop while visiting Mukojima Price and specific product not confirmed Tabelog says reservations are not accepted. Check the shop’s current menu and hours.
Chomeiji Sakuramochi, Mukojima Buy sakuramochi to share ¥6,400 for 20 pieces, tax included; checked November 3, 2026 Confirm availability and storage instructions with the shop.
Oiwake Dango Honpo Shinjuku Honten, Shinjuku-sanchome Ask about reserving products for pickup Price and specific product not confirmed Product reservations are by phone; tea-room seats cannot be reserved.
Usagiya Chuo-dori-ten, Nihonbashi A sweets stop at this Nihonbashi branch Price and specific product not confirmed Check the exact branch listing for its current information.
Kuya, Ginza A shop to consider on a Ginza visit Price and specific product not confirmed Check the shop listing for products, prices and ordering information before making a special trip.
Umemura, Asakusa A sweets-shop option in Asakusa Price and specific product not confirmed A Chinese-language listing is available; its language does not establish what languages staff speak.
Kameju, Tokyo Consider it if its listed location fits your plans Price and specific product not confirmed Check the listing for the address, menu and opening day.
Eitaro Sohonpo Nihonbashi Honten, Nihonbashi Kintsuba or candy are mentioned in a regional guide A 2024 guide lists Nadai Kintsuba at ¥270 including tax; quantity unclear Check official shop information and ask about the current selection.

The Habutae price comes from its official product page, and the Chomeiji box price comes from its official product page. Kukuku’s course price is a seasonal example from its Tabelog listing, not a confirmed current quote. The Eitaro figure is from a 2024 guidebook and should not be treated as a current price.

The selection gives weight to an individual Michelin shop listing, then published selections and shop or visitor information. When the supporting information was otherwise similar, English booking or visitor information helped distinguish the entries; ties were resolved by shop name. These criteria do not measure taste or sales, and prices or booking details that could not be confirmed remain marked as such.

Choose by purchase and check before you go

A single-item visit, a group purchase and a booked course call for different preparation. Choose the kind of purchase first, then check the source that can answer your particular question. This avoids treating an old guide price, a seasonal course or a product listing as a promise of what will be available on the day.

Your plan Starting choice Check before leaving
Try one listed item Habutae’s grilled dango stick Current price, opening hours and how to order
Buy for a group Chomeiji’s 20-piece box Availability, storage instructions and when to eat it
Book an experience Kukuku’s sweets-and-tea course Current course, price, duration and cancellation terms
Ask to reserve an item for pickup Oiwake Product availability by phone; its tea-room seats cannot be reserved

Before setting out, match the full shop name and branch to the address on its official page or listing. Check that the product you want is still offered, and compare the number of pieces and tax status where a price is published. Confirm the opening day and whether the shop takes reservations for the purchase you intend to make; reserving an item is not the same as reserving a seat.

If you are fitting a shop into a multi-day Tokyo plan, verify its opening day before assigning it to a particular day. If your first choice is closed or the item is unavailable, use the comparison table to select a different area or purchase type, then check that shop’s own listing before changing your route. For Oiwake, the official site gives access information from Shinjuku-sanchome Station, but you should use the address and access details on the official site to plan the final approach.

Japanese sweet types to look for

A product name is a useful starting point, but it does not tell you everything about ingredients, texture or storage. Ask about the exact item you plan to buy, particularly if you are choosing a gift or have dietary requirements. Do not assume that two sweets with the same name have the same ingredients or storage needs.

Match the product name to the shop.
Habutae · grilled dango→Chomeiji · sakuramochi→Eitaro · kintsuba→Kukuku · sweets and tea
Match the product name to the shop.
Name What the supplied shop information confirms Where to start
Dango Habutae lists a grilled version sold by the stick. Habutae’s official product page
Sakuramochi Chomeiji lists a 20-piece box. Chomeiji’s official product page
Kintsuba A Nihonbashi regional guide introduces it at Eitaro. Eitaro’s shop information and the regional guide
Sweets-and-tea course Kukuku’s listed seasonal course pairs five sweets with five teas. Kukuku’s official page and its Tabelog listing

For sakuramochi and kintsuba, use the maker’s product information or ask the shop about ingredients, texture and storage for the specific item. The available sources do not establish a universal shelf life or ingredient list for every sweet in these categories. If you need to check for particular ingredients, ask staff about the exact product rather than relying on its name alone.

10 shop cards

Use the area to narrow down your options, then confirm the exact branch and address before travelling. Some of the prices below are tied to particular dates or sources, while several shops have no verified product price in the information available here. The links lead to shop pages or listings that can help you check current details.

1. Kukuku — 九九九

Choose Kukuku for a planned sweets-and-tea course in Roppongi. Tabelog lists a seasonal course of five sweets and five teas at ¥13,200 including tax; this price was checked on November 3, 2026, and is not confirmed as the current course price. The official site directs customers to make bookings through OMAKASE.

The official listing gives hours of 12:00–18:00 and Monday and Tuesday closures, with eight seats. Children must be at least junior-high-school age and able to eat the same course as adults; cash and cards are accepted, and bringing alcohol is not permitted. These shop details were checked on November 4, 2026, so confirm the current course, price and cancellation terms when booking through the official Kukuku page.

2. Habutae Dango Honten — 羽二重団子 本店

Choose Habutae in Nippori if you want to try one listed grilled dango stick. Its official product page lists one stick at ¥378, checked on November 3, 2026; the source does not state whether tax is included. The price is not a guarantee of current availability.

For the address, consult the shop’s information and its English entry in the Tokyo Metropolitan Government restaurant guide. That guide provides visitor information, but the sources do not confirm an English menu or a booking method. Check opening hours and how to order before visiting.

3. Kototoi Dango — 言問団子

Kototoi is an option for a sweets stop in Mukojima, but the available information does not confirm a specific product or price. The Sumida tourism shop page provides an English visitor-information page. Check the shop’s current menu and hours before making it part of your plan.

Tabelog says reservations are not accepted, based on its listing checked on November 3, 2026. That is a statement about reservations, not a guarantee that a particular product will be available when you arrive. Confirm current details with the shop or listing before travelling.

4. Chomeiji Sakuramochi — 長命寺 桜もち

Choose Chomeiji in Mukojima if you want a box of sakuramochi to share. Its official product page lists 20 pieces for ¥6,400 including tax; the page was checked on November 3, 2026. Treat that as a listed price, not a guarantee of current availability.

Check the official shop information for the address and opening day before you go. If you are buying the box for a group, ask about storage instructions and when the product should be eaten. The available information does not establish a general storage period for every purchase.

5. Oiwake Dango Honpo Shinjuku Honten — 追分だんご本舗 新宿本店

Choose Oiwake for a Shinjuku-sanchome stop if you want to ask about reserving products for pickup. The available sources do not confirm a product price, so check the current selection and price before calling. Its official site provides access information from Shinjuku-sanchome Station and an English rendering of the address.

The official site says to call about product reservations, while tea-room seats cannot be reserved. A pickup reservation and a seat reservation are different, so make clear which one you are asking about. Check current opening information and product availability before setting out.

6. Usagiya Chuo-dori-ten — うさぎや 中央通り店

Choose this branch if a Nihonbashi stop fits your itinerary. Tabelog selected it for its 2023 Tokyo sweets list, but that selection does not establish a current menu, price or ranking by taste. The Chuo-dori branch listing is the place to check the exact branch information.

No specific product price is confirmed here. Check the branch listing for its current menu, address and hours before travelling, rather than assuming that information for another branch applies. English-menu and reservation details are also unconfirmed.

7. Kuya — 空也

Kuya is an option to consider for a Ginza visit. Tabelog selected it for its 2026 Tokyo sweets list, but that does not provide a confirmed product price or promise that a particular item will be available. Check the Kuya listing for current products, prices and ordering information before making a special trip.

The available information does not confirm an English menu or a booking method. Use the listing to check the address and opening information, and verify any details that matter to your visit. Do not rely on a price or product description from another shop as a substitute for Kuya’s own current information.

8. Umemura — 梅むら

Umemura is an Asakusa option selected for Tabelog’s 2023 Tokyo sweets list. That selection is not a current product or price list, and no specific item or price is confirmed here. Check the Umemura listing for the address and current hours before visiting.

The listing is in Chinese, but its language does not establish what languages staff speak. English-menu and reservation information are not confirmed. If you have questions about ingredients or storage, ask about the exact product you plan to buy.

9. Kameju — 亀十

Kameju is a shop to consider if its listed location fits your route. The available listing confirms the shop name and classification but does not establish a current price or a specific product to order. Check the Kameju listing for the address, menu and opening day.

Do not infer the shop’s location from its position in this list; use the address on the listing to plan your visit. English-menu and reservation information are not confirmed. Check current details before making a special trip.

10. Eitaro Sohonpo Nihonbashi Honten — 榮太樓總本鋪 日本橋本店

Choose Eitaro in Nihonbashi if you want to ask about kintsuba or candy, both of which a Nihonbashi regional guide mentions. The official site confirms the Nihonbashi main shop; check its shop information for current details. English-menu and reservation information are not confirmed.

A 2024 guidebook lists Nadai Kintsuba (名代金鍔) at ¥270 including tax, but the quantity is unclear and this is not a current price. Ask Eitaro about today’s selection and price before buying. The old guide figure should not be used to estimate the price of a current purchase.

Ordering and booking

A reservation for a product means asking a shop to keep an item for pickup; it is not the same as booking a seat. The available information gives specific booking guidance for Kukuku and Oiwake, and a reservation status for Kototoi. For the other shops, do not assume that a reservation is possible without checking.

Visit or purchase What the source says Source
Kukuku course The official site directs bookings to OMAKASE. Official shop page
Oiwake products Call about product reservations or items for pickup. Official shop page
Oiwake tea room Seats cannot be reserved. Official shop page
Kototoi Tabelog says reservations are not accepted. Tabelog listing

The sources were checked on November 3, 2026, except for the Kukuku shop details added on November 4, 2026. Confirm availability and cancellation terms when making plans, especially for a course whose price and details may change. A shop’s published information should be checked again before you rely on it for a particular date.

For an efficient ordering check, save the full shop and product names from the relevant page, then compare the listed quantity, price and tax status. Use OMAKASE or call only where the available information identifies that method, and ask about availability and cancellation before committing. Once at the shop, show staff the product name and ask about ingredients, storage and when to eat it; ask about payment before ordering.

Shopping for Japanese sweets at Tokyo Station

Tokyo Station may suit a purchase planned around a train journey, but the ten shops in this guide are not confirmed as having branches there. Do not assume that a product sold at a city shop is also sold in the station. Use Tokyo Station’s official shopping information and station map to check the exact shop, product and location.

Check the location before planning a station purchase.
Tokyo Station→exact product and price→inside or outside ticket gates→storage instructions
Check the location before planning a station purchase.
Check the exact product and shop location before setting out.
Product listing→Price and quantity→Station map→Ticket-gate location
Check the exact product and shop location before setting out.
Ask about the exact item and your journey.
Chomeiji · 20 pieces→Eitaro · kintsuba or candy→shop storage instructions→destination rules
Ask about the exact item and your journey.

Start by searching the official station shopping information for the name of a sweet or shop you want. Then use the official station map to check its floor and whether the location is inside or outside the ticket gates, since that affects whether it fits your journey. Read the product listing for price, quantity and storage instructions before choosing a box or individual item.

Compare prices and piece counts among the products you actually find at the station. A group box and a single sweet are different purchases, and the city-shop prices in this guide are not a Tokyo Station price list. Ask the shop whether it offers tax-free service before paying; do not assume every sweets shop does. The wider rules are covered in the Japan tax-free guide, but the station shop must confirm its own service.

Gifts, storage and food questions

Choose a gift according to the journey it must make, not just the number of pieces in a box. The available sources do not provide verified shelf-life or storage details for all the products in this guide. Ask the shop about the exact item you are buying, and follow its instructions rather than assuming that a traditional sweet will keep in the same way as another product.

Purchase Ask before paying
Habutae’s grilled dango “How should I store this, and when should I eat it?”
Chomeiji’s 20-piece box “What are the storage instructions for this box?”
Eitaro’s kintsuba or candy “Which item suits my journey, and can it be wrapped?”
Any gift taken abroad “Are the ingredients allowed at my destination?”

A box size tells you how many pieces it contains, not how long they will keep. For a gift that will be carried for a while, ask about storage and the recommended time to eat it before buying. If you have dietary restrictions, ask staff about ingredients in the specific product; the information here does not confirm that any item is vegan, gluten-free or free from particular allergens.

For gifts taken abroad, check your destination’s official rules on the ingredients in the item you are carrying. The shop can answer questions about its product, but it cannot establish the import rules of another country. Harajuku sweets and street-food snacks shown in the accompanying video are a separate outing, not evidence of current stock at any of the ten shops listed here.

Frequently asked questions

Where should I start if I want to try just one Japanese sweet? Habutae Dango Honten is a practical starting point because its official product page lists a single grilled dango stick. The listed price is ¥378, but the source does not state whether tax is included, and you should confirm the current price and opening details before visiting. See the official product page.

Which shop is a starting point for a sweets-and-tea course? Kukuku’s official site directs bookings to OMAKASE and lists eight seats, hours of 12:00–18:00, and Monday and Tuesday closures. Tabelog lists a seasonal course of five sweets and five teas at ¥13,200 including tax, checked on November 3, 2026; the current course price is not confirmed. Check the official Kukuku page for booking details and confirm the current course and cancellation terms when you book.

Can I reserve a seat at Oiwake? No; its official site says tea-room seats cannot be reserved. It says to call about reserving products for pickup instead, which is a different request. Check the official Oiwake site for access information and call about the product you want.

Can I buy these ten shops’ sweets at Tokyo Station? Their availability at the station is not confirmed here. Search Tokyo Station’s official shopping information for the exact product or shop, then check the station map for its location and ticket-gate status. Do not use the city-shop prices in this guide as station prices.

Which choice has a listed box price for sharing? Chomeiji’s official page lists a 20-piece sakuramochi box at ¥6,400 including tax, checked on November 3, 2026. Confirm that it is available and ask the shop about storage instructions before buying. The listing is a dated source, not a guarantee of current stock.

Are the prices current? They were checked on November 3, 2026, with Kukuku’s additional shop details checked on November 4, 2026. Some prices are seasonal or come from a 2024 guide, and several shops have no confirmed price in the information available here. Check the linked shop or listing before purchasing.

Can I take a Japanese sweet abroad? This guide does not establish whether a particular product is allowed into your destination. Ask the shop about the item’s ingredients, then check your destination’s official import rules for those ingredients. Do not assume that a product is permitted simply because it is sold as a gift in Tokyo.

How were the ten shops selected? The selection gives priority to an individual Michelin shop listing, then published selections and shop or visitor information. English booking or visitor information helped distinguish otherwise similar cases, with ties resolved by shop name. The method is not a ranking of taste or sales, and a listing or award should not be read as a guarantee of current product availability.

At a glance
Where
The ten shops include places in Roppongi, Nippori, Mukojima, Shinjuku and Nihonbashi.
One sweet
¥378
Habutae lists one grilled dango stick for ¥378; tax status is not stated.
Sharing box
¥6,400,
Chomeiji lists 20 sakuramochi for ¥6,400, including tax.
Course
¥13,200,
Tabelog lists a seasonal Kukuku course for ¥13,200, including tax; confirm today’s price.
Before you go
Check opening hours. For Kukuku, also confirm the course length.
Getting there
Oiwake’s official site gives directions from Shinjuku-sanchome Station.
Booking
Kukuku uses OMAKASE. Oiwake takes product reservations by phone, but not tea-room seat bookings.

Travel inspiration in photos

🇯🇵 TOKYO WALKING TOUR - WALK THE STREETS OF JAPAN DAY & NIGHT | 4K HDR - 60fpsYouTube🇯🇵 TOKYO WALKING TOUR - WALK THE STREETS OF JAPAN DAY & NIGHT | 4K HDR - 60fps5,627,002 viewsYouTube ↗
DEATH LEVEL RAMEN in Tokyo!! 🌶️ 💀 w/ Ramen Beast (He's Eaten 4,000 Bowls of Ramen!!)YouTubeDEATH LEVEL RAMEN in Tokyo!! 🌶️ 💀 w/ Ramen Beast (He's Eaten 4,000 Bowls of Ramen!!)2,813,782 viewsYouTube ↗
Eat the Top 15 Most Mind-Blowing Sushi with Lucas Sin in Tokyo's Best Omakase | Best of the WorldYouTubeEat the Top 15 Most Mind-Blowing Sushi with Lucas Sin in Tokyo's Best Omakase | Best of the World969,907 viewsYouTube ↗
JAPAN VLOG🍡: days in tokyo, so much food, cute shopping + gachas, anime irl locations, harajukuYouTubeJAPAN VLOG🍡: days in tokyo, so much food, cute shopping + gachas, anime irl locations, harajuku558,434 viewsYouTube ↗
Michelin Star Tempura - $120 Dinner in TokyoYouTubeMichelin Star Tempura - $120 Dinner in Tokyo198,108 viewsYouTube ↗
Tokyo Ramen that Left Us Speechless! BEST Ramen in Japan!!!YouTubeTokyo Ramen that Left Us Speechless! BEST Ramen in Japan!!!147,469 viewsYouTube ↗
Top 10 Cherry Blossom Spots in TokyoYouTubeTop 10 Cherry Blossom Spots in Tokyo140,237 viewsYouTube ↗
Exploring Tokyo After Midnight - In a WheelchairYouTubeExploring Tokyo After Midnight - In a Wheelchair139,911 viewsYouTube ↗
BEST 7 Harajuku Sweets - Tokyo Street Food Snacks | Harajuku, Tokyo [4K]YouTubeBEST 7 Harajuku Sweets - Tokyo Street Food Snacks | Harajuku, Tokyo [4K]108,795 viewsYouTube ↗
$232 LUXURY 25 Course SUSHI OMAKASE DINNER in Tokyo Japan! (EXCLUSUVE Sushi Experience)YouTube$232 LUXURY 25 Course SUSHI OMAKASE DINNER in Tokyo Japan! (EXCLUSUVE Sushi Experience)75,485 viewsYouTube ↗
Tokyo's Best Vegetarian Spots: A Foodie's GuideYouTubeTokyo's Best Vegetarian Spots: A Foodie's Guide64,053 viewsYouTube ↗
Japan: Part 1 of exploring Tokyo art galleries, museums and more...YouTubeJapan: Part 1 of exploring Tokyo art galleries, museums and more...60,069 viewsYouTube ↗

Find answers in the guides

Browse all guides · Share your Japan post

Reader travel posts